Tomato Soup Cake

Standard

Yay! 👏 It’s a cake day!! 🎂🍰  I 💜 cake!!  I had seen a contestant on an old Cupcake Wars episode make a tomato soup cupcake.  I still love that show.  It’s on Food Network Monday-Thursday at 11 am and it also comes on the Cooking Channel some nights at 8 or 9.  At the time I thought what the heck?  That’s weird.  The other day I saw a recipe for tomato soup cake with boiled caramel frosting on Facebook.  I was intrigued.  How can this possibly make a good tasting cake?  Today I decided it was time to make this enigma of a cake.  This is a relatively easy cake to make.  Just make sure your arms are well rested because the frosting takes 15 minutes of whisking.  Holy bob!  But it’s well worth it.  It is absolutely delicious!  It tastes like a spice cake.  Personally I could detect a hint of tomato flavor but it just added a tang to it.  Have a piece with a cup of coffee or tea.  You’ll love it.

Tomato Soup with Boiled Caramel Frosting

via Melissa @ http://chindeep.com/2013/08/06/tomato-soup-cake-with-boiled-caramel-frosting/

I followed Melissa’s directions except my square pan was metal and 8×8.

Cake:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 can condensed tomato soup

1 and 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 9×9 square baking pan with baking spray with flour.  (I only had an 8×8 pan)  In a medium mixing bowl beat butter and sugar with electric hand mixer.  Add egg and tomato soup and mix until well combined.  Sift dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix until smooth.  Pour evenly into prepared pan.  Bake for 35 minutes. (Mine took 40 minutes due to the smaller pan)  Cool for 10 minutes in pan on a wire rack.  Remove from pan and cool completely.  Meanwhile make frosting.

Frosting:

1 and 1/2 cups brown sugar

1/3 cup unsalted butter

1/3 cup whole milk

1/4 teaspoon salt

Place butter in a medium sauce pan and melt on medium high.  Remove from heat and add remaining ingredients.  Whisk until mixture comes to a boil, continuing to whisk while letting it boil for one minute.  Remove from heat and whisk for 5-10 minutes (mine took 10) until mixture cools some and begins to thicken.  Quickly pour over cake allowing frosting to ooze over the edges.  The frosting hardens quickly so you must move fast.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About Glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a comment