Sunday Afternoon French Fries

Standard


This really isn’t going to be a recipe. I mean potatoes, oil and salt are all you need. Simple, right?  This is all about the memories rather than the recipe. 


Homemade French fries are becoming a thing of the past. With crinkle cuts waiting in the freezer section and fast food joints on every corner, there doesn’t seem to be a need to take all the time to peel potatoes and cut them by hand. Don’t get me wrong. When you’re in a hurry to get a meal ready there’s nothing wrong with throwing some Ore-Idas in some hot oil or a hot oven. But for me, there’s memories in them thar taters. 

Sometimes on Sunday afternoons my Mom would fry up 2 or 3 huge platters of homemade French fries for lunch. Just the fries. Maybe a little catsup. Nothing else. Mom, Dad and the four of us kids would devour the perfectly golden fried potatoes. They were slightly crispy on the outside but pillowy soft on the inside.  Good times, good fries, food memory made. 

I’ll never forget the first time I made homemade fries for my dear in-laws. Once again, they were devoured lustily with yummy sounds and omgs coming from their lips. Afterward my mother-in-law asked how I made them. I chuckled a little inside and told her it was just potatoes, oil and salt. She seemed astounded that something so delicious was so humbly and simply made. Like magic, another French fry memory was made. 

Take a moment to make a memory. Not only will your heart be filled, but also the ones you love will have a bit of magic and a story to tell. 


French Fries                                      Generously serves 2

3 medium to large russet potatoes

Vegetable oil

Iodized table salt, to taste

Peel and cut potatoes into 1/4 to 1/3 inch thick planks. Place in a bowl and fill with cold water. Allow potatoes to soak in the water for 30 minutes to one hour. Drain off water and place on a clean dish towel. Blot off excess water. Fill a large, 12-14 inch, skillet halfway with oil. Heat oil on medium high and heat until oil is hot. Carefully place the potatoes in the oil and cook, stirring occasionally, until golden brown. Remove from pan with a slotted spoon onto a paper towel lined plate. Season immediately with salt to taste. Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

