Orange You Glad Bundt Cake

Standard

   Just look at the orange zest in this cake!  MMMM-mmmm!  It came about because I had 7 very ripe oranges.  It starts with a cake mix which makes it a little easier.  It does take some time to zest and juice the oranges but trust me this is what makes this cake exceptional.  The end result is a light, moist cake that is an orange lover’s dream.  I made the rookie mistake of not moving it to the cake plate the correct way.  I just picked the warm cake up to transfer it.  You guess it.  It broke into several pieces.  I had to set it down without turning it right side up too.  Good grief!  I knew it wasn’t going to be the pretty cake I’d imagined but I also knew it was going to be a super good, tasty cake.  You can either cry over little boo-boos or you can frost those babies and eat them which is what I did.  The frosting is to die for!  I wished there was more and was thankful there wasn’t at the same time because I could’ve just eaten it with a spoon.  After the first bite I asked myself, “Orange you glad you made this cake?” Indeed I am.  Put on your apron.  Let’s make this cake!

 You can see the boo-boos in this picture.  😦

 Orange You Glad Bundt Cake

Cake:

11.5 oz. box butter golden cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick), at room temperature

1 cup (for cake) plus 3-4 Tbs. (for frosting)  freshly squeezed orange juice (from 6-7 oranges)

zest from 6-7 oranges (reserve 1 tsp. zest for the frosting)

4 eggs, at room temperature

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Frosting:

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 tsp. orange zest (reserved from cake)

2 cups powdered sugar, sifted

3-4 Tbs. orange juice (reserved from cake)

pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a bundt pan with non-stick cooking spray with flour. Set aside.  Place the room temperature butter and orange zest in a large mixing bowl.  Mix on medium speed with an electric hand mixer until pale yellow in color, 2-3 minutes.  Add the remaining cake ingredients and mix on low until combined, then increase speed to medium and beat for 2 minutes.  Pour batter into prepared pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 33-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Remove to a cooling rack.  Meanwhile make the frosting.  Place the room temperature butter and orange zest in a small mixing bowl.  Mix on medium speed until it’s a light yellow color. Add the powdered sugar, salt and orange juice.  Mix on low until powdered sugar is incorporated. Increase speed to high and beat until light and fluffy.  Place cake plate on top of inverted cake on cooling rack.  Pick up the cooling rack with the cake sandwiched between the rack and the stand and turn cake over onto the cake plate.  The cake should be right side up now.  Spoon the frosting over the still warm cake and allow it to cool completely before slicing.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

 

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

One response »

Leave a Reply

