Lunch Lady Brownies 

Standard

  I had kept seeing this recipe all over Facebook and Pinterest saying it was the best brownie recipe ever.  With that disclaimer, I had to try making them.  The question with brownies is cake-like or fudgy?  Personally, I usually prefer a cake-like texture to a fudgy one.  How about you?  Did you ever have these brownies for lunch at school?  I sure don’t remember having them and trust me I would have remembered them.  I slightly adapted the recipe from Life in the Lofthouse.  Let me tell you it was blunder night in the kitchen for me last night.  If I could drop it, it was dropped.  If I could splatter it, it splattered.  If it could explode, it exploded.  Seriously.  I am not kidding one bit.  Let me tell you about my cartoon moment.  I decided to melt my butter in the microwave.  Being “smart” like I am and always thinking ahead, I decided to melt my butter in the microwave covered, of course, to prevent splatters.  Well, long story short, my melted butter exploded all over the inside of the microwave.  I was not a happy camper.  I said a few Mother Hubbards and sons of a buckets.  I even went so far as to say Mother Hubbard AND her cupboard.  The brownies and frosting were finally made but not in time to have one last night.  Cheese guys!  That’s not fair, is it?  All is fair in love and brownies and today was another day.  Insomnia struck at 3:30 so I was up unloading the dishwasher, making coffee, cutting the brownies and taking pictures.  At about 4:00 one of these babies was sitting on a plate next to a steaming cuppa coffee.  They are rich and fudgy with a nice bit of frosting.  I added some espresso powder and chocolate syrup to the batter and thought about throwing in some chocolate chips.  I vetoed that idea, which was totally out of character, thinking I wanted to keep them the smooth fudge texture.  These are quite delicious.  Put on your apron.  Things are about to get messy.  Let’s make some brownies.
    Look at that fudgy goodness!  I felt like the conductor on the brownie town express.  All aboard!
 Lunch Lady Brownies

Brownies:

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

1 tsp. instant espresso powder

2 cups sugar

2 cups flour

4 eggs

4 tsp. vanilla

1/3 cup chocolate syrup (I used Hershey’s)

Frosting:

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

3 cups powdered sugar

pinch of salt

1/4 cup milk (whole, 2% or skim)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 9 x 13 baking pan with aluminum foil extending over the ends, spray with non-stick cooking spray and set aside.  Brownies: Place the melted butter, cocoa powder and espresso powder in a large mixing bowl and mix with an electric hand mixer on medium speed until combined.  Add the sugar, flour, eggs, vanilla and chocolate syrup.  Mix until just combined.  Spread batter evenly into the prepared pan.  Bake at 350 for 25-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Remove to a cooling rack.  Meanwhile make the frosting.  Place all frosting ingredients in a medium-sized bowl and beat with an electric hand mixer until smooth.  After they have cooled for 15 minutes, spread the frosting evenly over the warm brownies.  Allow to cool completely before cutting.  When cooled, remove from the pan by using the aluminum foil “handles”.  I cut mine into 15 bars.  Store in a tightly covered container.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

 

 

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

