Cabbage Roll Soup

Standard

  Soup, je t’adore.   Seriously, who doesn’t love a steaming hot bowl of soupy goodness?  It’s not just any soup though.  This cabbage roll soup tastes just like an unrolled cabbage roll in a bowl.  (Hey, I’m a poet and don’t know it.  Hehehe.)   It has all the taste without all the work.  That’s a win/win situation in my book.  It’s a stick to the bones, fill you up kind of soup that makes a meal.  I’m sorry for the sloppy bowl in the picture.  My only defense is that I was in a hurry to scoop it up with my spoon and get it into my mouth.  I posted the pictures on Facebook a few days ago and thought it was high time to get the recipe to you. My green-eyed Irish guy was having nothing to do with it.  He hates cabbage.  Boo-Hiss! So it was up to G and I to take one for the team and eat it all.  It’s a tough job, but someone has to do it.  Right?  Let’s make soup!         Cabbage Roll Soup

1 lb. ground chuck

1/2 lb.  Italian sausage

1 medium onion, diced

1 tsp. minced garlic

2 Tbs. olive oil

1 tsp. smoked paprika

1/2 tsp. dried thyme

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1 small head of cabbage, chopped

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

2  14 oz. cans diced tomatoes

11 1/2 oz. can vegetable juice (such as V8)

32 oz. carton beef stock or broth (4 cups)

1 beef bouillon cube

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 cup uncooked long grain rice

shredded cheddar cheese for garnish, if desired

Heat the olive oil in a large Dutch oven on medium-high heat.  Add the ground chuck, sausage, onion and garlic.  Break apart the meat into crumbles and cook until browned. Drain off excess fat.  Stir in the paprika, thyme, salt, pepper and cabbage.  Cook for 3-5 minutes.  Sprinkle in the flour and cook  for 2-3 minutes to remove the raw flour taste. Pour in the tomatoes, vegetable juice, beef stock, bouillon cube, brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce and rice.  Stir and combine well.  Bring mixture to a boil. Reduce the heat to low, cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes.  Remove from the heat and allow to stand covered for 5 minutes.  Taste and add salt and pepper if necessary.  Ladle into bowls and sprinkle with shredded cheddar cheese, if desired.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

