Stuffed Acorn Squash

Standard

  The snowpocalypse has begun.  Yep, it is our first snowfall of the season. It snowed all day.  Big, fluffy, wet snowflakes.  Grudgingly, I admit it can be pretty, but this is what I really think of snow:

  I’m sorry winter.  We’re just not compatible.  It’s not you.  It’s me.  I’d like to see other seasons.  ANY other season!  I’ll just grab my sunglasses and flipflops because spring is waiting for me just around the corner.

Enough winter bashing for the moment.  Let’s talk squash.  Acorn squash to be exact.  I didn’t want to make soup like I usually do.  I wanted to do something different so I decided to stuff that baby.  I knew I wanted to use Italian sausage and rice.  A lot of people add apples and cranberries.  I didn’t have any apples on hand but I did have apple butter.  I thought the spicy apple spread would be an interesting addition.  Boy, was I ever right. The combination was pretty darn good.  The cranberries re-hydrated and gave it a sweet tart surprise.  All I am saying is give squash a chance.  Try it.  You’ll like it.  I promise.


Stuffed Acorn Squash

1 large acorn squash

2 tsp. olive oil

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

Stuffing:

1/2 lb. sweet Italian sausage

1 Tbs. finely minced onion

1/4 tsp. minced garlic

1/3 cup apple butter

1/8 cup dried cranberries (I used Craisins)

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1 cup cooked brown rice

 

1/4 tsp. chili powder

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

2 Tbs. maple syrup

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.  Cut the squash in half vertically.  Remove the seeds and strings. Sprinkle each cut side with half the olive oil, salt and pepper.  Place on the prepared baking sheet cut side down.  Cut several shallow slits in the skins of each half.  This will allow steam to escape so the squash roasts instead of steams.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. While the squash is roasting, make the stuffing.  Brown the sausage on medium high heat in a medium sized skillet.  Drain off the fat.  Reduce heat to medium and add the onion.  Cook for 2-3 minutes or until soft. Add the garlic and cook for another minute.  Add the apple butter, cranberries, salt, pepper and rice. Stir and cook for 3-5 minutes until heated through.  Set aside.  Remove the squash from oven.  Carefully turn each half over on the baking sheet with two spoons.  Sprinkle each hollow with half the chili powder, cinnamon and maple syrup.  Fill each hollow with the sausage mixture, making a large mound on top.  Cover the squash with aluminum foil, tucking the edges under.  Return to the oven and bake for 15 minutes.  Carefully remove the foil.  Using two spoons transfer each half to a bowl.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

