Cheery Cherry Coffee Cake

Standard

  Have you ever heard of the winter blues, otherwise known as SAD or seasonal affective disorder?  If nothing else, my joints sure do know about it.  The gray skies, the cold and the winter rain, sleet, snow and ice just bring me down. Do you feel that way too?  I always say on the gray, yucky days that I have to make my own sunshine. Most of the time I’m successful, but when there’s day after day and week after week of it, my sunshine making skills wane.  Yesterday was so yucky.  It was cold, rainy and the wind was howling. Today, it’s still kinda cold and the wind is still howling but it’s not raining. The sky is blue and the sun in shining.  Happy dance!  I’m soaking it in to recharge my inner solar panels to help me make my own.  This is just the calm before the storm so to speak.  The weather forecast says the “s” word for Saturday. I’m not ready for that darned white stuff! Then again, I’m never ready for it.  I’m the kind of girl who wishes for a green Christmas.  My green-eyed Irish guy always says you have to have snow for Christmas.  I always say I DON’T!

Gray, cold days make me think of baking.  Well, honestly, most days make me think of baking, but days like that REALLY make me think of it.  This coffee cake with its pretty red cherries and abundant glaze is a good thing to cheer a person up on a cold, bleak, blustery day or any day for that matter. It’s an oldie but goodie recipe from Bisquick.  I mean it when I say it’s a goodie.  It’s delicious.  I added some cinnamon to the cake batter.  It gives it a little somethin’ somethin’.  Usually I would make my own, but for this I bought the box o’ baking mix.  Add a can of cherry pie filling (or your favorite fruit pie filling) and you’re on your way to riding the tasty town express to cheery cherry coffee cake land.  Invite your friends over for coffee and coffee cake and spread the sunshine.

  Mmmmmm!  Look at all that glaze!
 Cheery Cherry Coffee Cake

4 cups baking mix (such as Bisquick)

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

1/2 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. almond extract

1 tsp. cinnamon

3 large eggs, at room temperature

21 oz. can cherry pie filling (or your favorite fruit pie filling)

Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar

2 Tbs. milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease or spray with non-stick cooking spray a 9 x 13 baking pan.  Set aside.  Mix the melted butter and sugar together in a medium sized mixing bowl.  Add the eggs one at a time, mixing after each addition.  Add the remaining ingredients except for the cherry pie filling and the glaze ingredients.  Mix until just combined. Spread about 2/3 of the batter into the prepared pan.  Spread the pie filling over the batter.  Drop the rest of the batter by the tablespoonful over the pie filling.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes or until light golden brown.  Remove from the oven and place on a cooling rack to cool slightly while making the glaze.  To make the glaze, place powdered sugar and milk in a small mixing bowl and beat with a whisk until smooth.  Drizzle glaze onto the coffee cake while it’s still slightly warm.  Cut into squares and serve either warm or at room temperature.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

