Homemade Ricotta Cheese

Standard


Oh my good golly am I ever excited!  Cheese guys, I just made cheese!!  CHEESE!!!!!  I saw a recipe from Epicurious for homemade ricotta cheese which you’ll find here.  I couldn’t resist giving it a try.  It was so easy!   It took a while for the milk mixture to come to a boil so it takes patience.  I did stir it quite often because I didn’t want it to scorch.  I’m going to use it in my homemade lasagna tomorrow.  You can find that recipe here.  I took some pictures of the process to show each step. Let me tell you this ricotta is some kind of wonderful too.  It is delicious and tastes so fresh because it is so fresh.  I just made it!

Place a colander or sieve in a large bowl.  Line the colander with 2 layers of cheesecloth.

Place milk, cream and salt in a Dutch oven.  Heat on medium heat until it becomes foamy and starts to boil.

When the milk mixture comes to a boil, turn the heat down to low and add the lemon juice.
  The whey is starting to separate.

Stir and cook for 2-4 minutes or until curds form.  Pour into the waiting colander lined with cheese cloth.

Allow to drain for 10-15 minutes.  Refrigerate until ready to use.  It should stay fresh for about a week in the fridge. Beautiful and very tasty ricotta cheese.

Homemade Ricotta Cheese

8 cups (1/2 gallon) whole milk

1 cup heavy cream

1  1/2 tsp. Kosher salt

3 Tbs. fresh lemon juice

Place a colander in a large bowl.  Line the colander with a double layer of cheesecloth.  Set aside.  Place the milk, cream and salt in a Dutch oven.  Heat on medium heat until it is foamy and starts to boil.  Reduce heat to low.  Stir in the lemon juice.  Continue to cook and stir for 2-4 minutes.  Remove from heat and carefully pour into the lined colander.  Allow to drain for 10-15 minutes.  Refrigerate until ready to use.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

