Lemon Surprise Cupcakes 

Standard

  Aren’t these cute little cuppiecakes?  I didn’t notice until I was staging these two for the picture but they kind of look like candy corn.  Do you like candy corn?  I think it’s one of those either you love it or you hate it things.  Sorry all you candy corn lovers, but I am a hater.  Don’t get me wrong.  I think it’s cute and it definitely is one of the things that comes to mind when I think of fall, but I sure don’t want to eat it.  No thanks.

This starts with a doctored up lemon cake mix.  Then comes the surprise in the middle.  It’s filled with a blueberry cream. YUM!  It’s frosted with a lemon cream cheese frosting.  I swear that frosting is dangerous.  It’s the kind that one, meaning me, could eat out of the bowl with a spoon.  I didn’t have enough blueberry preserves to give the filling enough blueberry flavor for me, so I crushed some dehydrated blueberries I had in the pantry to give it a little oomph.  Don’t t buy these just for the little bit you’d use in this recipe.  Increase the amount of blueberry preserves to 1/2-3/4 cup until it tastes blueberry enough for you.  I thought I had another jar of blueberry preserves in the pantry but it turned out to be blackberry.  I contemplated adding it, but I had my mind set on blueberry.
.                                           Here is the surprise.  They’re filled with yummy blueberry cream.
 Lemon Surprise Cupcakes

Cake:

16.5 oz. lemon cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)

4 eggs, at room temperature

2/3 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 cup milk

zest and juice from 1 large lemon

Blueberry Filling:

4 oz. (1/2 brick) cream cheese, at room temperature

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

1/3 cup blueberry preserves*

1/8 cup dehydrated blueberries, crushed*

1 Tbs. sugar

Frosting:

8 oz. cream cheese (1 brick), at room temperature

8 Tbs. unsalted butter (I stick), at room temperature

zest and juice from 2 large lemons

5 cups powdered sugar, sifted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line 2 muffin pans with cupcake liners.  Place butter in the bowl of a stand mixer.  Using the paddle attachment, beat the butter on medium speed 3-4 minutes or until light and fluffy.  Add the cake mix, milk, lemon zest and juice and beat until just combined.  Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each addition.  Mix on medium speed for 2-3 minutes until batter is well combined.  Use an ice cream scoop to scoop the batter into each of the 24 liners.  Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the middle of a cupcake.  Remove from the oven and cool in the pan for 10 minutes.  Remove cupcake from the pan to cool completely.

In a small mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese and sugar with an electric hand mixer until smooth and creamy.  Add the blueberry preserves, dehydrated blueberries (if using) and the whipping cream.  Begin beating on low speed and slowly increase to high as the mixture begins to thicken.  Mix 3-4 minutes or until stiff peaks form.  Place the cream in a zip top plastic bag.  Cut a small piece off of one corner.  Using a paring knife or a cupcake corer, core out the center of the cake, reserving the tops.  Squeeze the cream into the centers of each cupcake.  Replace the top to each, covering the cream.

In the bowl to a stand mixer, add the cream cheese and the butter.  With the whisk attachment, beat 3-5 minutes on medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add the lemon zest, juice and powdered sugar.  Beat on low until the sugar is combined.  Increase the speed to high and beat until thick, creamy and smooth.  Place the frosting in a pastry bag or a zip top plastic fitted with a large star tip.  Frost the cupcakes.  Enjoy!

*I used the dehydrated blueberries because I didn’t have enough blueberry preserves.  Omit them and instead of 1/3 cup preserves, add 1/2-3/4 cups to taste.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

