Banana Chocolate Chip Donuts with Maple Glaze

Standard

  How pretty are these?  I couldn’t resist making donuts from the ripe bananas I had.  For some reason I always seem to have ripe bananas.  All the better to bake with them.  I didn’t want to just dip them in cinnamon sugar.  I knew I wanted to glaze these babies.  What goes with banana?  Maple!  I wanted the full beauty treatment for them so I opted to drizzle them with chocolate.  Va va voom!  Not only are they beautiful but they also taste fantastic.

My day usually starts with 2-3 cups of coffee with a little half and half.  I can’t stand sweet coffee.  My green-eyed Irish guy doesn’t understand how I can love sweets like cakes, cookies and the such and not like sweet coffee.  I don’t know why.  It just makes me want to gag.  I don’t even like flavored creamers because they’re too sweet.  Ewwww!  I don’t have to eat breakfast but I sure have to have my coffee.  There are benefits from drinking coffee.  It can help with a headache, a sore throat and let’s not forget the help it gives your colon.  So pour yourself a cuppa and grab one of these for a sweet beginning to your day.


Hello beautiful!  Come to Momma!  Nom, nom nom. Banana Chocolate Chip Donuts with Maple Glaze

Makes 18 donuts

Donuts:

1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup mashed very ripe bananas (about 3 medium)

1/2 cup sour cream 

2 eggs at room temperature

1 tsp. vanilla

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Glaze:

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

3 Tbs. pure maple syrup

2 Tbs. milk

1/2 tsp. maple flavoring

pinch of salt

Drizzle

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 tsp. shortening (I used Crisco)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Spray 3 donut pans with non-stick cooking spray.  In a large bowl, combine the melted butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add in the banana, sour cream and vanilla.mixing until well combined.  Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition.  Stir in the baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.  Stir in the flour until just combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips.  Spoon the donut batter into a large zip top bag.  Cut one corner from the bottom.  Squeeze the batter into the wells of the prepared donut pans.  Bake at 325 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a donut comes out clean.  Allow to cool in the pan on a wire rack for 5 minutes.  Remove from the pan and allow to cool completely on a wire rack.  Meanwhile, make the glaze.  In a medium-sized mixing bowl, combine the powdered sugar, maple syrup, milk, maple flavoring and salt.  Whisk until smooth and well combined.  Dip the top of each completely cooled donut into the glaze.  Place on the wire rack to allow glaze to set.  In a small zip top bag, combine the chocolate chips and shortening.  Microwave in 30 second intervals, kneading between each time, until chocolate is completely melted.  Snip a small piece of one corner off.  Drizzle the chocolate over the glazed donuts.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

