Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts

Standard

Everything pumpkin is coming our way.  I sure don’t mind a bit.  I love pumpkin.  If you love pumpkin like me, these pumpkin doughnuts are really going to please you.  They’re baked, not fried, so they’re healthier for you.  They are a cake doughnut so they’re light, fluffy and moist.  They’re covered in cinnamon sugar. Whenever I say cinnamon sugar I think of a song.  I always sing, “Cinnamon and sugary like softly spoken lies.  You’ll never know just how you look through other people’s eyes.”  It’s from a song called Pepper from the, forgive me, Butthole Surfers.  It’s the truth. I can’t make stuff up like that. This recipe is from King Arthur flour and you’ll find it here.  These doughnuts are delicious.  I dare you to try to eat just one. Everything’s coming up pumpkin for the next couple months.  Hang on tight and enjoy the ride and while you’re at it, a doughnut or two.

 

Heart shaped and super cute!

Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts

1/2 cup vegetable oil

3 large eggs at room temperature

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree (canned pumpkin not pumpkin pie mix)

1 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 3/4 cups plus 2 Tbs. all-purpose flour

Coating

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly spray 3 doughnut pans with cooking spray.  Set aside.  In a large bowl, beat together the oil, eggs, sugar, pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, salt and baking powder until well combined and smooth.  Add the flour and mix until just combined and no lumps of flour are evident.  Fill each doughnut pan well 3/4 full.  This made 18 doughnuts for me.  Bake for 15-18 minutes at 350 degrees or until a tooth pick inserted in the center of a doughnut comes out clean.  Remove the doughnuts from the oven and cool in the pan on a wire rack for 5 minutes.  Turn the doughnuts out onto the wire rack to cool.  Combine the 1/2 cup sugar and teaspoon of cinnamon in a quart sized zipper bag. While the doughnuts are still a little warm, shake them in the cinnamon sugar mixture one at a time to coat them.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

