Apple Festival

Standard

  One thing that I always look forward to every year is the Apple Festival in Kendallville, Indiana located in Noble county about 25 miles north of Fort Wayne.  It’s always the first Saturday and Sunday of October.  This year marks the 30th annual festival.  It’s a celebration of fall.  It has pioneer people, crafts, music and food.

For me, it’s all about the food.  There are many booths that I can’t miss.  The first one we always visit is the East Noble High School, my alma mater, haystack potato booth.  Corkscrew potatoes fried to a crispy, almost potato chip like, goodness and topped with melted cheese.  They are peeled, cut into the corkscrew shape and fried right there at the booth.
    Look at these potatoes!  Delicious!
  Next is the apple fritter booth.  These are also fried on site.  They even give you the recipe.  
   After they’re fried, they’re covered in powdered sugar.  You can always tell who get these by the dusting of white on their clothing.

  These are vats of oil used for popping pop corn at the caramel corn stand.
  Look at all that popcorn that flies out of the vats.  
  That’s a hot job.  Next stop is the chicken and noodles.  Pretty dang good and at a reasonable price.
    Mmmmm!  Super yummy chicken and noodles.
  Raise a Rukus is a cute show the high schoolers put on and there’s a guest visit from Miss Indiana.  My favorite part is the “She thinks my tractor’s sexy” skit.
  Next stop is the fruit kabob covered in chocolate.  There’s a slice of apple, a marshmallow, a slice of apple, a chunk of banana and finally another slice of apple.  Yum!
  No picture of the slice of apple pie.  The kids and I ate it before I thought of it.  Oops!  Quite tasty.  Three words.  Maple.  Cream.  Candy.  Oh my good golly!  The maple cream in these is out of this world!
    When I saw this lovely couple walking around the festival, I really wanted to take their picture.  There were too many people to catch up to them.  On our way out  guess who I saw?!!  They are super cute in their costumes.  I asked if I could take their picture and they graciously said yes.  They also gave me permission to use them in my blog.
 It’s always such a good time for everyone.  The crowds certainly prove that.  You can smell smoke and food.  You can always hear some kind of music.  You can find all kinds of crafts.  Most of all what I find is a little piece of home.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

