Peanut Butter Bars

Standard

 Who doesn’t like peanut butter and chocolate?  I’d guess very few people.  My green-eyed Irish guy is one though.  Gasp! When he was little, my son LOVED peanut butter cups.  He is my fourth born child weighing in at a whopping 11 lbs. at birth.  Yep, 11 lbs.  He was in the nursery at the hospital with a 4 lb. and 5 lb. baby.  I could hear people talking when they passed my room.  Did you see that 11 lb. baby? Or, I gotta see that woman who had the 11 lb. baby!   He’s now a 6′ 1″ man.  How did that happen?  It seems like just yesterday when he said his first words.  First was Mama.  I secretly enjoyed that a lot.  The three girls all said Dada first. Second was ball-ball.  He loved balls.  Anything round was a ball.  We went to the grocery store and he saw a big honeydew melon.  His eyes got really big and his jaw dropped.  Finally he whispered, completely awestruck, “Ball-ball!”.  His third word was, believe it or not, donut. He loved those mini Hostess chocolate covered donuts.  I would give him a couple of them pretty much every morning after he ate his breakfast.  Sorry if I embarrassed you M.  Love you!

Getting back to these bars.  It’s hard to believe that so few ingredients can result in such a great treat.  I’ve made these before with pretzels instead of graham cracker crumbs.  They’re equally delicious either way.  I used creamy peanut butter but you can use chunky if you’d like more texture to your bars.  Word of caution about these bars-they are not for anyone who is counting calories.  Sometimes, though,  you have to throw caution to the wind and eat a peanut butter bar.
 Peanut Butter Bars

Bars

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter

2 1/4 cups graham cracker crumbs

2 cups powdered sugar

1 cup creamy peanut butter

Topping

1 1/2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips

4 Tbs. creamy peanut butter

Melt the butter in a medium sized bowl.  Add graham cracker crumbs, powdered sugar and peanut butter.  Mix until butter is all absorbed and well combined.  Press this mixture into a 9 x 13 pan.  Combine the chocolate chips and peanut butter in a small microwave safe bowl.  Heat in 30 second intervals, stirring after each.  Mine took about 90 seconds.  Stir until smooth.  Pour over the bars and spread in an even layer.  Cover the pan and place in the fridge for an hour to allow the chocolate to set.  Cut into bars.  I made 15 but you make however many you’d like.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

