Beer Cheese Soup

Standard

  This soup is some kind of wonderful.  Remember that song?  Wanna hear it right now?  Listen to it here.  Is it just me or do you think it’s stupid that they have ads on YouTube before you can view your video?  You know what’s not some kind of wonderful?  These pictures.  No matter where I placed the bowl on the table I had that quarter moon shadow.  I decided to go with it.  Gives it character.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.  Anywho, as you can guess I made it to the grocery store today.  I went right after my LAST wound care clinic appointment.  YAY!  I’m so glad this is finally healing to the point that I don’t have to go back. Happy dance!  Back to the soup.  It’s creamy and cheesy and laced with the flavor of Guinness Blond Lager.  You see those speckles in it?  Those are from carrots and red bell pepper.  Just more passengers on the flavortown express.  Let me get started on the full cast of characters after I give this shout out to the writer (original recipe is here).
   Beer Cheese Soup

1 Stick (8 Tbs.) unsalted butter

heaping 3/4 cup small diced carrots

1/2 large red bell pepper, diced small

3/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 tsp.black pepper

12 oz. beer (I used Guinness Blond lager)

1 1/2 cups half and half

4 cups chicken stock or broth

12 oz. (3 cups) shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 Tbs. Worcestershire sauce

Dash of hot sauce

1/8 tsp. nutmeg

2 Tbs. Dijon mustard

2 Tbs. fresh lemon juice

Crumbled crispy fried bacon for garnish

In a large stockpot, melt the butter on medium high heat.  Add the carrots, red pepper and salt.  Cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Sprinkle in the flour and whisk together with the butter.  Cook and whisk for 5 minutes or so to remove the raw flour taste.  Add the beer, half and half and stock.  Turn the heat down to medium low and whisk until mixture is smooth and all the flour is dissolved.  Continue cooking for 15 minutes, whisking occasionally.  Add the cheese 1/4 at a time, whisking until it’s all melted after each addition.  Whisk in the Worcestershire, hot sauce, black pepper, nutmeg, mustard and lemon juice.  Carefully blend the hot soup in 2-3 batches depending upon how large your blender jar is.  Place a kitchen towel over the top of the blender to catch hot liquid spills.  DO NOT over fill the blender.  Hot liquids will spew out and burn you if you do.  It’s probably best not to fill the blender jar over 1/2 full when blending hot liquids.  Safety first so you can enjoy your soup and not have to go to the emergency room.  Return the blended soup to the stockpot and heat on medium low until warmed through.  Ladle into bowls and sprinkle with the crumbled bacon.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Homemade Soft Pretzels | goodwitchofcake

Leave a Reply

