Pineapple Pecan Chicken Salad Wrap

Standard

  I didn’t want to go to the grocery store today.  This chronic insomnia I’ve been having just kept me thinking I don’t wanna and I didn’t.  So my plans of having beer cheese soup and baked orange chicken meatballs for dinner flew out the window. I did still have some cooked chicken in the fridge and a very ripe pineapple hanging out on the kitchen island.  Light bulb!   Are you saying that like Gru from Despicable Me like I did?  Chicken salad it would be.  I’m not a fan of grinding the chicken for salad.  I would rather chop it in small pieces so I can see what I’m biting into.  I’m also not a big fan of celery in meat salads.  I considered it and vetoed that idea pretty quickly.  The additions of pineapple, pecans and bacon make this one heck of a tasty chicken salad.  Is that a paper plate you see in the pictures?  Why, yes.  Yes it is.  Forgive me for that this one time, please.  And maybe a time or two in the future because paper plates happen.

Pineapple Pecan Chicken Salad Wrap

2 cups cooked chicken, chopped in small pieces

2 Tbs. red onion, chopped fine

1/3 cup fresh (or canned)  pineapple, cut into small pieces

1/4 cup pecans, chopped into small pieces

1 cup mayonnaise

1 1/2 Tbs. Dijon mustard

1 Tbs. lemon juice

1 Tbs. honey

1 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. pepper

1 tsp. dried dill

1/2 tsp. lemon pepper

1 lb. maple bacon, fried crispy

3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

6 burrito sized flour tortillas

Lettuce or your choice of greens, if desired

Mayonnaise, Dijon mustard, honey mustard or ranch dressing as a condiment for the tortilla, if desired

Fry the bacon until golden brown and crispy.  Drain on a paper towel lined plate.  Set aside.  In a medium sized bowl, mix the chopped chicken, onion, pineapple and pecans.  Set aside.  In a small bowl, combine the mayonnaise, Dijon mustard, lemon juice, honey, salt, pepper, dill and lemon pepper.  Mix until smooth and well combined. Pour into the meat mixture and mix until the dressing is evenly distributed throughout the meat mixture.  Heat tortillas in the microwave until warm and pliable.  Place one tortilla on a plate and spread with condiment of your choice, if desired.  Put about 1/3 cup chicken salad in the bottom 1/3 of the tortilla, top with about 1/8 cup shredded cheese, 2 pieces of bacon and some greens, if desired. Roll the tortilla from the bottom over the chicken salad.  Fold the sides in and continue rolling up the tortilla.  Cut in half on a diagonal.  Repeat with the remaining tortillas.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

