Oven Roasted Honey BBQ Brined Chicken

Standard

  I have never brined chicken before.  I’ve seen all the chefs on Food Network do it.  I decided to give it a try for myself.  I had bought a 10 pound bag of chicken leg quarters for 39 cents/pound at Meijer.  Isn’t that a ridiculous price?  I was going to make a big batch of chicken stock out of it.  Well my stock pot was only big enough for half of it.  Dang it, Bobby!  So I decided it was time to try this brining business.  It was my plan to put it in the brine yesterday afternoon, let it hang out in the fridge until this afternoon and then throw it on the grill.  Mother Nature had other plans for me and my chicken when she decided it was going to rain all afternoon.  Plan B-throw it in the oven and roast it, then baste it with honey barbecue sauce.  It was, in my green-eyed Irish guy’s words, “Damn delicious!” You can definitely taste a difference.  The chicken was super moist and flavorful.  Finger lickin’ good.  Mmmmmmmm!  Are you ready to wear barbecue sauce from your head to your elbows?
   Oven Roasted Honey BBQ Brined Chicken

Brine:

8 cups cold water

2 Tbs. kosher salt

1/4 cup brown sugar

5 sprigs fresh thyme

5 pounds chicken leg quarters or whole chicken cut into parts, skin on

Olive oil for drizzling

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

Your favorite store-bought or homemade BBQ sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey BBQ)

The day before you plan on serving the chicken, prepare the brine by combining the water, salt, brown sugar and thyme sprigs in a large bowl with a tight fitting lid.  Stir until the salt and sugar are dissolved completely.  Place the chicken in the bowl, put the lid on and place in the fridge for 24 hours or so.

The day you’re serving the chicken.  Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with sides with aluminum foil.  Set aside. Remove the chicken from the brine and pat dry with paper towels.  Place the chicken on the prepared baking sheet.  Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, turn it over and do the same to the other side.  Place chicken skin side up on the baking sheet.  Bake at 450 degrees for one hour. Remove from oven, pour off all the chicken juices from the baking sheet and brush BBQ sauce on both sides.  Return to the oven for 5 minutes.  Remove from oven and brush with BBQ sauce once again.  Return to the oven for 5 minutes.  Remove from the oven and brush with BBQ sauce one last time. Bake for 5 minutes.  Remove from oven and ENJOY!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

