Foil Packet Shrimp Boil

Standard

  Believe it or not the first time I experienced a shrimp boil was in 2007 at my place of employment.  It was the year of the Bears/Colts Super Bowl and the owner of the company had a shrimp boil to celebrate out in the shop for all the employees.  I was deep in Bears’ country and the only Colts fan in the place.  Even my husband is a Bears fan.  It was glorious!  Huge shrimp, potatoes, corn on the cob and sausage were boiling in humongous pots of spicy elixir.  I savored each bite.  We had that treat at least a couple more times at work.  Thank you Duane Kaminski!  When I saw this recipe pop up on Facebook from Damn Delicious (recipe here), I knew I was going to make it.  I texted G and asked her if she would rather have gazpacho or this for dinner.  She replied THAT in all caps.  I didn’t have any baby potatoes so I took two medium potatoes and cut them into 1/2-3/4 inch cubes.  I’ll admit I didn’t measure how much salt, pepper and Old Bay seasoning I used but I think I can estimate pretty close to what I used.  Following the oven baking directions of 425 degrees for 15-17 minutes (I actually left mine in for 20 minutes because my oven heats cooler), my packets weren’t fully cooked.  I rewrapped them and put them back in the oven at 500 degrees for about half an hour more.  They were pretty much perfectly done then.  I think next time I might parboil the potatoes a little before I put them in the packets.  This is truly delicious and tastes exactly like a shrimp boil.  It’s truly a treat in a shiny foil packet.  Yummy, yummy, yummy for your tummy, tummy, tummy!
   Foil Packet Shrimp Boil

Serves 2

1/2 lb. medium raw shrimp, de-veined and tails removed

1/2 lb. skinless smoked sausage cut into rounds

2 medium potatoes, washed and cut into 1/2-3/4 inch cubes

1 ear of corn cut into four pieces

2 Tbs. olive oil, divided

2 tsp. salt, divided

1 tsp. black pepper, divided

1 Tbs. Old Bay seasoning, divided (or more to taste)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Cut two 12 inch pieces of foil.  Arrange half of the potato cubes, half of the shrimp, half of the sausage and 2 pieces of corn on each piece of foil.  Sprinkle 1 Tbs. olive oil, 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. pepper and 1/2 Tbs. (1 1/2 tsp.) Old Bay on each packet.  Using your hands, mix until seasonings are evenly distributed.  Wrap your packets securely and place on a baking sheet.  Bake at 425 for 15-17 minutes.  Remove from the oven and carefully unwrap one packet to test doneness.  If potatoes are not done, return to the oven and bake for an additional 15-20 minutes.  Remove from the oven, place packets on plates and carefully open.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

