Susie Q Cupcakes 

Standard



“You need to have surgery.” my doctor matter of factly told me about a month ago.  Wait. What?  I don’t think you can ever be prepared for those words. Three weeks afterward and I’m just now getting strength and energy back enough to be in the kitchen. The 10 inch incision in my abdomen is healing EXCEPT for about a one inch section which is open and draining. The wound care clinic at a local hospital is trying to help get that mended.  They said it usually takes about three weeks.  So I wait, impatiently, for my get up and go to get back and my little opening in my wound to heal.  I went grocery shopping today with my daughter G.  The first stop was a quick one at Fresh Thyme Market for produce and the second was the major shopping at Meijer.  Let me tell you, I was pretty worn out by the time we got home and carried all the bags in.  Last Friday was my birthday (Happy birthday to me.  Happy birthday to me.  Happy birthday dear me.  Happy birthday to me.)  and I decided I was going to make a cake, or in this case cupcakes, that were like my favorite snack cake- the Susie Q.  There was just something about that white cream filling that was sooooo good.  I used my go to chocolate cake recipe which I slightly adapted and can be found here.  The cream filling came from Ree Drummond, the Pioneer Woman’s recipe here.  The chocolate buttercream on top is my version which comes out thick, smooth and oh so chocolatey.  They were some pretty dang good cupcakes even if I do say so myself.  Ok, grab your apron.  You’re gonna need it.  Let’s make some cake!

Cake:

2 cups granulated sugar

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa

2 Tbs. special dark cocoa

2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. kosher salt

2 eggs at room temperature

1 cup buttermilk or 1 Tbs. vinegar with milk added to equal one cup

1 cup strong, freshly brewed coffee

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 tsp. vanilla

White cream filling:

1 cup milk

5 Tbs. flour

1 tsp. vanilla

2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter at room temperature

1 cup granulated sugar

Chocolate buttercream:

2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter at room temperature

4 cups powdered sugar, sifted

1/2 – 3/4 cup cocoa, sifted

1 tsp. vanilla

2-3 Tbs. heavy cream (milk or half and half work as well)

pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line 24 muffin cups with paper liners.  Set aside.  Sift the dry ingredients into the bowl of a stand mixer.  Mix on low until everything is well combined.  Add the buttermilk, coffee, oil and vanilla and mix until just combined.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating between each addition.  Mix on medium speed for 2 minutes.  Pour batter into a large (4 cup) measuring cup and divide batter evenly between the 24 muffin cups.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted.  Cool for 10 minutes on a wire rack in the pans.  Remove from the pans and allow to cool completely on the wire rack.

Meanwhile make the creamy white filling.  In a small saucepan, add the milk and flour.  Heat over medium heat, whisking the entire time, until thick and smooth with the consistency of brownie batter.  Remove from heat.  Allow to cool completely or place in a large bowl filled with ice to cool more quickly.  While this is cooling, add the butter and sugar to the bowl of a stand mixer.  Beat on high speed until very light and fluffy and the sugar is completely integrated into the butter, about 5-6 minutes.  Stop and scrape down sides and bottom of the bowl as needed.  When the milk/flour mixture is completely cooled whisk in the vanilla.  Add this mixture to the butter/sugar in the mixing bowl.  Beat this on high speed until fluffy and creamy about 6-8 minutes or until it resembles whipped cream.  Place a large star tip into a gallon sized freezer ziplock bag.  Scrape the white filling into it and place in the refrigerator.

Now make the chocolate buttercream.  Add the room temperature butter to a mixing bowl.  Beat on high for a minute or two. Sift the powdered sugar, cocoa powder and salt into the bowl.  Add the vanilla and cream and beat on low for 1-2 minutes until combined (otherwise you’ll have a powdered sugar and cocoa cloud surrounding you) and then turn the speed up to high and beat until it’s fluffy, smooth and creamy.  If too thick, add more cream 1 Tbs. at a time.  Place a large star tip into a gallon sized freezer ziplock bag.  Scrape the buttercream into the bag.  Place in the refrigerator.

Using a knife or a cupcake corer, remove the centers of the cupcakes.  Remove the white filling and butter cream from the fridge.  Fill each cupcake with the white cream.  Pipe the buttercream on top beginning in the center of the cupcake and swirl your way out to the edge.  It resembles a rose and looks very pretty.  Store in an air tight container.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About Glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a comment