Honey BBQ Boneless Chicken “Wings”

Standard

  You know those boneless “wings” most restaurants offer?  I really enjoy them.  My favorite place to get them is not at a wing joint but at Pizza Hut of all places.  I think they’re great.  Being the thrifty person I am, I hate paying $5 or more for 8 measly pieces. I knew I could make my own and make them better.  I took a $1.89 one pound chicken breast and made 20-25 pieces out of it.  I dredged them in a seasoned panko bread crumb/flour mixture, dipped them in buttermilk and dredged them again.  I fried them to a nice golden brown and tossed them in my favorite honey bbq sauce.  Then my green-eyed Irish guy and I devoured them.  Oh my good golly!  They were so good!!  Don’t forget the napkins.
                                                              Honey BBQ Boneless Chicken Wings

1 lb. chicken breast cut into 20-25 pieces

1 cup buttermilk or 1 1/2 Tbs. vinegar with milk added to equal 1 cup

1 cup panko bread crumbs

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp. kosher salt

1 tsp. pepper

1 tsp. smoked paprika

1 tsp. parsley flakes

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. onion powder

1/8-1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

Vegetable oil for frying

1 – 1 1/2 cups of your favorite barbecue sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s honey bbq)

Measure the buttermilk or soured milk and place in a small bowl.  Combine the panko, flour, salt, pepper, paprika, parsley, garlic, onion powder and cayenne in a shallow dish.  Stir to evenly combine all ingredients.  Dip each piece of chicken into the flour mixture, shaking off the excess, then into the buttermilk, shaking off the excess and finally back into the flour mixture.  Heat about one inch of vegetable oil on medium-high heat in a large skillet until hot.  Add the chicken pieces in batches and fry until golden brown on each side, about 5-7 minutes.  Heat the barbecue sauce in a medium-sized bowl.  Add the fried chicken pieces and toss to coat each one.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

