Mighty, Meaty Morphin’ Meatloaf

Standard

  Last night I asked my green-eyed Irish guy what he’d like to have for dinner tonight.  He said, “I don’t know….maybe meatloaf.”  Yay!  I like it when he gives me suggestions.  I don’t like always being the one who decides what’s for dinner.  I really like it when someone tells me they’re hungry for something specific.  Then I heed the words of Capt. Jean-Luc Picard and “make it so”.  The reason I call this a morphin’ meatloaf is because, if you didn’t like meatloaf, once you try this you’ll change your mind.  You’re gonna love it!  It’s adapted from an Ina Garten recipe you’ll find here.  Whenever we have meatloaf we have to have mashed potatoes, gravy, corn and some kind of bread.  Hey, it’s the rules.  You know how KFC sells mashed potato bowls with the fried chicken in it?  Well, I think Boston Market should sell a mashed potato bowl with meatloaf in it.  I’d buy it.  If we had a Boston Market around here.  But we don’t.  So tomorrow for lunch I’ll just make my own. I’ve included a recipe for the mashed potatoes.  Remember it’s the rules.

                                                         Mighty, Meaty Morphin’ Meatloaf

1 Tbs. olive oil

1/2 small onion, diced (about 1/3 cup)

1/2 tsp. fresh thyme

3/4 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. minced garlic

1 Tbs. tomato paste

1 Tbs. Worcestershire sauce

2 Tbs. beef broth

1 lb. ground beef (I use 90/10)

1 large egg, beaten

1/3 cup Italian bread crumbs

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/2-3/4 cup ketchup

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a small skillet, heat the oil on medium heat.  Add the onions, thyme, salt and pepper.  Cook and stir for 3-4 minutes until onions are soft and translucent.  Add the garlic.  Cook and stir for a minute.  Add the tomato paste.  Cook and stir for another minute.  Remove from heat and add the Worcestershire sauce and beef broth.  Set aside.  Place the ground beef in a medium-sized mixing bowl.  Fluff it around with a fork.  Add the beaten egg, bread crumbs, onion mixture and cheese.  Stir around with a fork, mixing until well combined.  Don’t over mix it.  It makes for a tough meatloaf.  Pour onto prepared baking sheet.  Gently form into a loaf.  Coat top and sides with ketchup.  Place a small oven safe dish filled with hot water on the bottom rack of the oven.  This will help keep it moist.   Bake at 325 degrees for 40-45 minutes. Allow to stand for 5-10 minutes before cutting and serving.

You’re going to need these to go along with the meatloaf:

 Mashed Potatoes

8 medium-sized potatoes

6-8 Tbs. unsalted butter, cut into cubes at room temperature

1 cup milk, warmed slightly

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

Peel the potatoes.  Cut each in half and then each half into 3 or 4 pieces.  Place in a large sauce pan.  Fill the pan with water until it covers the potatoes by about one inch.  Add about 1 to 1 1/2 tsp. salt to the pan.  Bring to a boil on high heat.  Reduce to medium-high and boil for about 20 minutes or until a fork can be easily inserted into the potatoes.  Drain the potatoes.  Return them to the pan and place back on the hot burner for a minute to evaporate any remaining water.  I mash my potatoes by hand with a potato masher, but if you’d prefer use a mixer, ricer or food mill.  Mash until there are no large lumps.  Add the butter and continue mashing.  Pour in the warm milk and whip with the masher until smooth and creamy. Place a pat or two of butter on top to serve.  Room temperature butter and warm milk are the keys to fluffy mashed potatoes.

Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

