Easy Peasy Stovetop Mac and Cheesy

Standard

  Oh Sunday!  Where have you gone?  It’s mostly been a lazy, watch tv kind of day.  Not that I haven’t done anything.  I’ve made breakfast, run the dishwasher, done laundry and piddled around picking things up but before I knew it , it was 5:30 and no dinner was ready.  I mentioned mac and cheese to my green-eyed Irish guy and he was on board right away.  We don’t like baked mac and cheese.  It turns out kinda dry and hard on the top.  Nobody likes dry and hard mac and cheese. That’s why I make this stovetop kind that always turns out creamy, cheesy and delicious.  And it’s easy!  If you need an entree that takes only 20-30 minutes to make, this is a good one.  You could throw in some onion, canned tuna and peas and have tuna casserole.  You could add a little chili powder which is one of my personal favorite ways to eat it.  Or if you’d like, add a can of chili with beans or a cup of homemade chili to it for chili mac.  Add a small can of tomato sauce, a squirt of ketchup and some Italian seasoning to make a Chef Boyardee-esque mixture.  We’ve all had that canned stuff and know it’s not that great.  Experiment with different kinds of cheeses.  See how versatile it is as well as easy?  Now get your cheese on!                                                                             Easy Peasy Stovetop Mac and Cheesy

8 oz. macaroni pasta (or any shaped you’d like)

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1/2 cup milk

4 oz. Velveeta cheese, cut into cubes

3 slices American cheese, broken into pieces

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

Pour the macaroni into salted boiling water.  While stirring return to a boil and then reduce heat to medium high.  Cook for 9-11 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Drain pasta.  Return to the pan and place on the stove on medium heat for a minute to evaporate leftover water.  Add the remaining ingredients.  Cook on medium heat, stirring until all the cheese is melted and creamy.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About Glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a comment