Banana Nutella Oat Cookies

Standard

   Banana and Nutella are meant for each other.  Like star-crossed lovers, they say, “You complete me.”  Ok.  Trivia time.  What movie was that line in?  See it here.  “Shut up.  You had me at hello.”  The original recipe is from Chef in Training and you can find it here.  I changed it up a bit by substituting butter for the shortening, added more Nutella and added some cinnamon because cinnamon and banana go together like peas and carrots.  Another movie quote.  Which one is this?  Here it is!  I can’t promise there won’t be more.  Sorry, I’m not sorry.  These cookies are very moist and are like a banana muffin top.  Mmmmm, so good!  I was afraid they were going to be the texture of oatmeal scotchies, but they’re nothing like it.  The secret to their cake-like texture is that you work cold butter (or shortening, if you follow the original recipe) into your dry ingredients.  I scooped them with a medium-sized cookie scoop which worked wonderfully.  They don’t spread a whole lot when they bake either.  Mine took 10 minutes to bake and made about 25 cookies.  Two more movie trivia lines.  “Why would you wanna marry me for, anyhow?”  See the answer here.  And finally, “I’m just a girl standing in front of a boy.”  Here ya go.  Those are some of my favorite sappy lines from the movies.  I promise I’m done….for now. Evil, maniacal laughter inserted here.                                                                                  Banana Nutella Oat Cookies

2 large, ripe bananas, mashed

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup sugar

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) cold, unsalted butter, cut into small cubes

1 egg

1 3/4 cups oats

1/2 cup Nutella

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.  Sift the dry ingredients-flour, sugar, baking soda and salt, into a medium-sized mixing bowl.  Cut in the cold butter with a pastry cutter or two knives until it’s the size of peas and the flour looks kind of like sand.  Beat in the egg and mashed banana.  Be careful.  Don’t over mix the batter.  Stir in the oats until just combined.  Finally, swirl the Nutella in the batter with a spoon or a knife, making ribbons of Nutella throughout the batter but not mixing it in.  Use a medium-sized cookie scoop to scoop or a heaping tablespoon to spoon the cookies on the prepared sheets.  Bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes.  Allow to cool for 2-3 minutes on the baking sheet before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

