Peachy Puddin’ Cheesecake Pie

Standard


I had a major cake fail.  Yesterday I had planned on posting about a crazy cake I made.  You’ve heard of those cakes, right?  They’re the kind that don’t have any eggs, butter or milk in them.  What a great idea, I thought.  This particular one had coffee and Kahlua in it and I was so anxious to try it.  I read through the directions 5 or 6 times before I started and checked through the recipe another 3 or 4 times while making it.  Something just didn’t seem right.  I baked it anyway.  It came out flat as a pancake.  It didn’t rise at all.  It was dense like a Little Debbie Cosmic Brownie.  I read the recipe for the 10th time.  Although it doesn’t have eggs, butter or milk it DOES have baking soda which I totally overlooked 9 stinking times.  I wondered why it would have white vinegar and nothing to react with it to make the cake rise.  DUH!  I made some coffee Kahlua chocolate buttercream to go on it.  Let me tell you even that didn’t help.  That cake was horrible.  I had the great idea to make cake balls out of it and dip them in chocolate.  The chocolate seized up.  I managed to save it with a little solid shortening and cream.  That should have been my clue right there that nothing was going to work for this mess, but….I forged ahead any way.  I mixed up the cake and frosting, scooped the mixture out and rolled them into balls.  I dipped them in the chocolate.  Poor, sad cake balls.  Sprinkles wouldn’t even stick to them.  Sorry to say the only thing that got cake last night was the garbage can.  I’m surprised it didn’t spit it out.

Peachy Puddin’ Cheesecake Pie

Crust:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted

2 cups graham cracker crumbs

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

Cheesecake:

8 oz. cream cheese, at room temperature

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup heavy whipping cream

Puddin’:

3.41 oz. box peach Greek yogurt pudding mix

2 cups cold milk

15 oz. can sliced peaches in juice

1 Tbs. sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In a medium-sized, microwave safe bowl melt the butter.  Add the graham cracker crumbs, sugar and cinnamon.  Stir until well combined.  Press the crumb mixture into the bottom and sides of a 9 inch deep dish pie dish.  Bake at 375 degrees for 5-7 minutes.  Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack.

Place the cream cheese and sugar in a medium-sized mixing bowl.  Whip with an electric mixer until smooth and creamy. Add the vanilla and whipping cream.  Mix on low, gradually increase speed to high and whip for 5 or 6 minutes until it becomes thick, stiff peaks.  Refrigerate until ready to use.

Combine the pudding mix and milk.  Beat with a whisk until well combined and starts to thicken.  Refrigerate until ready to use.

Drain the juice from the peach slices.  Place the juice and sugar in a small saucepan and simmer until reduced by half and forms a syrup.  Set aside to cool.

When the crust is cool assemble the pie.  Spoon the cheesecake mixture into the bottom and smooth the top.  Carefully spoon the pudding mixture on top of the cheesecake mixture making sure not to swirl together.  Top with peach slices in a decorative pattern.  Brush the peaches with the syrup.  Serve with dollops of whipped cream sprinkled with cinnamon. Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

