Wicked Awesome Dip

Standard

55591376620584984_RALyzsuq_b[1]

This is a terrible picture and I apologize for it.  I’ll replace it soon because it doesn’t do this dip justice.  With the Fourth of July coming soon, I just had to share it with you.  It’s not the prettiest thing to look at, but it is sure tasty.  The first time I made it for my green-eyed Irish guy he said it looked gross.  I told him to trust me.  Just taste it.  He dug one tortilla chip in, tentatively took a bite and BAM!  He was hooked.  It’s good on tortilla chips.  Duh, that’s obvious.  It’s good on so many other things.  Top a hot dog with it instead of chili.  Put it on french fries.  Talk about wicked awesome fries.  Oh baby!  You could serve it over pasta or rice.  It makes quite a bit so if you don’t have a crowd, freeze what’s left over.  That’s right. Portion it into freezer safe containers or freezer zip top bags and freeze it until you want it.  I try to make a batch just after I make chili.  It tastes even better when you used homemade chili in it.

Wicked Awesome Dip

1 lb. ground beef (I use 90/10)

1 packet taco seasoning mix

8 oz. cream cheese, cubed, at room temperature

8 oz. velveeta cheese, cubed

8 oz. shredded cheddar cheese

15 oz. can chili with beans (or 2 cups homemade chili)

24 oz. salsa (I used mild, but if you like spicy go for hot) or more if dip gets too thick

Brown the ground beef in a medium skillet on medium heat.  Drain off any excess fat.  Spray the crock of a crock pot with non-stick cooking spray.  Add the ingredients in the order shown.  Cook on low until hot and bubbly, about 90 minutes or so.  Reduce the heat to warm while serving.  If mixture gets too thick, add more salsa to thin it out a bit.  Serve with tortilla chips.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

2 responses »

  1. Two things
    1) have you ever used Reynolds slow cooker bags? Best thing ever if you use a crock pot.
    2) try this dip with chorizo, you can find it in the grocery store next to the refrigerated tortilla shells

    Like

    • Hi Rayann! Thanks for checking out the blog. I’ve tried the slow cooker bags. My inner thriftiness objects to them. I find them to be wasteful. They cost a lot for just a couple bags and, with something like this dip, you lose some of your food. I find that if I just spray it well with non-stick cooking spray beforehand and soak it in hot water for a few minutes afterward, clean up is a snap. I haven’t tried it with chorizo, but it’s an excellent suggestion!

      Like

Leave a Reply

