Posole Rojo

Standard

Got my mams grammed today.  I went to the Breast Diagnostic Center to get my yearly mammogram.  This is such an important thing we women can do for our own health.  I had a scare back in 2012.  I had my mammogram and didn’t think anything about it, like usual.  Then I got the phone call.  There’s something wrong with your mammogram, the nurse said.  There’s irregularities in both breasts.  I went blank and stopped hearing her.  Panic overtook me.  Then I heard her say that I had to come in for more pictures and an ultra sound.  I hung up the phone and lost it for a minute.  My poor green-eyed Irish guy tried to comfort me as I cried.  He asked if they had said the word cancer.  I said no.  He said then we won’t worry about that unless we have to.  Geez, I love that man!  So I went back to the clinic for the additional pictures.  The technician came back and said the radiologist needed a few more pictures.  Then she told me he said all was good and I could leave and I didn’t need the ultra sound.  I got just a few blocks away when my phone rang.  The radiologist looked at the films again and wanted me to come back for the ultra sound.  He didn’t like what he saw.  My heart sank.  I was so scared!  The ultra sound technician took her images.  She brought the radiologist in to do some imaging.  He decided that it was dense breast tissue but it needed to be watched to make sure there were no changes.

I don’t know anyone personally who has battled breast cancer.  I hope there comes a time when women don’t have to fight it.  I hope there’s a cure found soon.  Until that time, save your boobies.  Do self checks each month and get your yearly mammogram.  Please just do it!

 

 Posole Rojo

3 boneless pork chops (1 – 1 1/2 lbs.)

3 Tbs. olive oil, divided

1 medium sized onion, halved and sliced thinly

1 tsp. chopped garlic

32 oz. box chicken stock or broth

10 oz. can mild diced tomatoes with green chiles

15.5 oz can hominy

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

1 Tbs. chopped fresh parsley

Garnish ideas: thinly sliced radishes, sliced avocado, sliced green onions, thinly sliced cabbage, cheese, sour cream or crema

Trim the fat from the pork chops.  Lightly sprinkle them with salt, pepper, chili powder and cumin.  In a Dutch oven or stockpot, heat 2 Tbs. olive oil on medium heat.  Brown the pork chops on both sides.  This is just to sear them not to cook them through.  Remove from the pan and set aside.  Add the last Tbs. olive oil to the pan and the onions.  Sprinkle with a little salt and pepper.  Cook and stir for 5-6 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook for another minute or so.  Deglaze the pan by adding the carton of chicken stock and stirring around so all the brown bits are scraped up from the bottom of the pan.  Add the tomatoes, hominy, chili powder, cumin, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer.  Cover and simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour.  Carefully remove the meat from the pot.  Using a fork shred it into small pieces.  Return to the pot.  Add the chopped parsley.  Cook on low for 20 minutes.  Garnish with your choice of toppings.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

