Caramel Puff Corn

Standard

This stuff is dangerously addictive. It’s caramel corn without the hulls. What’s happened to popcorn?  I used to love it as a kid and young adult but any more I can’t stand it. There’s so many hulls, I find it almost inedible. Puff corn is a wonderful alternative.  My grandson, Bubbie loves this. I think he could eat his weight of it. Even my green-eyed Irish guy likes it.   Next time I make it I’m going to use the cheese puff corn. It’ll be like a Chicago type mix all in one bite. YUM!!  Warning: this won’t last long.

Caramel Puff Corn

1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks)

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup light corn syrup

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. vanilla

7 1/2 oz. butter or cheese flavored puff corn (I used Seyferts)

Preheat oven to 250 degrees. Spray a large roasting pan with non-stick cooking spray. In a medium to large sauce pan, combine the butter, brown sugar and corn syrup. Cook on medium heat until boiling. Boil for 2 minutes without stirring. Remove from heat and add baking soda and vanilla. This will bubble up so use caution. Stir until well mixed. Dump the puff corn in the prepared roasting pan.  Pour the hot caramel over the puff corn. Using a lift and turning motion, stir corn so that the caramel is evenly distributed and all the pieces are covered. Bake at 250 degrees for 45 minutes, removing from oven and stirring every 15 minutes. Remove from oven and place on parchment paper lined counter to cool. Break into pieces when cool enough to touch. Store in an air tight container or large zip top bag.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

