Corn Chip Snack Mix

Standard

 Do you love crunchy snacks?  I sure do.  I love the sound of crunching.  Even when someone else is doing it.   Is that weird?  I can’t help it.  It’s just so satisfying to bite down and hear CRUNCH!  This is like a cross between that ever addictive Chex snack mix and that old-time favorite Cracker Jacks.  Do you remember how exciting it was to have a prize in the cracker jack box?  I couldn’t wait to find it.  I’d tip the box every which way and poke around until I had it in my hot little hands.  I don’t especially care for cracker jacks any more.  I don’t know whether my tastes have just changed or whether they’ve changed over the years, but they just don’t taste the same.  It’s funny how our tastes change over the years as our palates develop.  What are some things you’ve grown to like over the years?  Coffee is one for me.  Used to be I couldn’t stand it, but now it’s a cold day you know where before I go without it.  Guacamole, yogurt, spinach, grits just to name a few.  I always told my kids they had to take one bite of a new food, chew it and swallow it.  If they didn’t try it, they wouldn’t know if they liked it and it might turn out to be one of their favorite things.  Now if I could just convince my green-eyed Irish guy to give more new foods a try.  This recipe was very slightly adapted from here

Corn Chip Snack Mix  

10.5 oz. bag corn chips (such as Fritos)

2 cups rice cereal squares (such as Chex)

2 cups pretzels (use any small shape you like.  I used waffle shaped ones.)

1 1/2 cups nuts (any combination of your choice.  I used dry roasted peanuts.)

1 cup brown sugar, packed

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1/2 cup light corn syrup

3/4 cup M&Ms

3/4 cup Reese’s Pieces

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a large roasting pan with non-stick cooking spray.  In a large bowl combine the corn chips, cereal, pretzels and nuts.  Set aside.  Combine the brown sugar, butter and corn syrup in a medium-sized pan.  Bring to a boil over medium heat and boil for 4 minutes.  Do not stir this mixture while it’s boiling.  Remove from heat and stir. Pour over the corn chip mixture, stir to evenly distribute the caramel and coat all the pieces.  Pour into the prepared roasting pan.  Bake for 8 minutes.  Remove from oven and stir.  Return to oven to bake for 8 additional minutes.  Remove from oven and pour onto a piece of parchment paper to cool.  Sprinkle with M&Ms and Reese’s pieces.  Break into pieces when cool enough to touch.  Store in an airtight container or zip-top bag.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

