Pina Colada Cake

Standard

   I bet you would never guess this but I love cake.  Love, love, love it!  I love mixing it, baking it, smelling it, frosting it, cutting it and eating it.  But I think one of my most favorite things about cake is sharing it.  I think cake makes everyone happier.  For me, baking is a way to share love.  In fact, I always say love is my secret ingredient.  I’m a home cook/baker.  I’ve had no formal training.  Most of what I’ve learned has been through lots of trial and error.  I’d like to inspire other people to discover the love of baking/cooking.  Pina Colada Cake

18.25 oz pineapple cake mix (I use Duncan Hines)

3 oz. box coconut cream pudding mix

3  large eggs at room temperature

1/3 cup vegetable oil

½  cup clear rum

½  cup water

Cream of coconut

Pineapple jam for filling

Pina Colada Buttercream

1 cup toasted coconut

For the cake:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix the dry cake mix and dry pudding mix with electric mixer until blended.  Add the water, rum, eggs and oil.  Mix on low until moistened.  Mix at medium speed for 2 minutes.  Scrape sides of bowl. Mix for 20-30 seconds more.  Pour into two 9 inch pans sprayed with baking spray with flour.  Bake for 22-25 minutes until toothpick comes out clean and cake is pulling away from the sides of the cake pan.  While the cake is baking prepare your pineapple jam.

When your cake is finished baking, put on a wire rack to cool, leaving it in the pan, for 10 minutes.  Remove cakes from pans and place on wire rack to cool completely.  When cooled completely return to cake pan.  Poke holes all over the cake surface with a meat fork.  Squeeze the cream of coconut all over the cake, making sure to saturate the surface.  Allow the cakes to sit until all of the cream of coconut has been absorbed into them.  Place one cake layer top side down onto a serving tray.  Top with the cooled pineapple jam.  Cover the jam with a layer of pina colada buttercream.  Place bottom side of top layer onto the cake on your serving plate.  Frost top and sides with the remaining buttercream.  Sprinkle toasted coconut on top and sides.

For the pineapple jam:

½ cup chopped, fresh pineapple

¼ cup clear rum

¼ cup sugar

Put all ingredients into a small saucepan.  Heat on high until it starts boiling.  Turn heat down to medium low and cook until starting to thicken, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat and cool.

For the Pina colada buttercream:

2 Sticks (16 tablespoons or ½ lb. )unsalted butter at room temperature

4) cups powdered sugar, sifted

2 Tbs. clear rum

2 Tbs. cream of coconut

Put  butter in bowl of electric mixer.  Beat until pale yellow.  With the mixer off, add 1/3 of the sifted powdered sugar at a time mixing between each addition.  Then add the rum and cream of coconut.  Mix on next to highest speed until it’s light and fluffy

To toast coconut:

Place one cup of sweetened flake coconut on baking pan lined with parchment paper.  Bake for 5-10 minutes at 375 degrees, stirring often.  Watch carefully.  It burns quickly.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

