Dark Chocolate Avocado Cookies

Standard

Yes, dark chocolate avocado cookies.  Stay with me.  I guarantee you’ll love them if you give them a chance.  I too was skeptical but intrigued.  I have to admit I was hesitant to try them at first.  Once I took the first bite, I was hooked.  It doesn’t taste like avocado at all.  It is a rich, moist, chocolate bundle of goodness.  You’ll find the original recipe here.  These cookies are delicious and are made with “better for you” ingredients.

Dark Chocolate Avocado Cookies

1/2 cup mashed avocado

1/2 cup turbinado sugar*

2 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. apple cider vinegar

1/2 tsp. baking soda

2 Tbs. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp. cinnamon

3/4 cup white whole wheat flour

11 oz. bag 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips (I used Ghiradelli)

*Turbinado sugar is found in the baking aisle.  It is from pure cane sugar extract and is known as “sugar in the raw”.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Mash the avocado in a medium sized mixing bowl.  Add the sugar and mix with a hand mixer on medium speed until creamy.  Add the vanilla, vinegar, soda, cocoa powder and cinnamon and mix on medium until combined.  Add the flour mixing until flour is evenly dispersed and well combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips.  Place tablespoon-sized mounds on the prepared baking sheet, flattening slightly.  Bake for 10 minutes, turning baking sheet once halfway through.  Allow to cool for 3-4 minutes on the baking sheet before placing on a wire rack to cool.  Mine made a batch of 15 cookies.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

