Stuffed Green Pepper Soup

Standard

This stuffed green pepper soup has to be my favorite soup of all time.  I have my mother-in-law, Sondra, to thank for introducing me to it.  Schoop’s is a little chain of hamburger joints in Northwest Indiana.  On Mondays, the soup of the day is stuffed green pepper soup.  My green-eyed Irish guy and I went there with her and she suggested I order it.  Boy oh boy am I glad she did.  It was delicious.  I was on a mission to make it at home so I could have it any day of the week I wanted, not just Monday.  Not bragging, but I think my recipe is better than the restaurants.  I think of my dear mother-in-law every time I make it.  It was a great loss to our family when she passed away in October of 2011. She was a social butterfly, a beautiful woman with a beautiful heart.  Let’s have some soup for her.

 Stuffed Green Pepper Soup

1 lb. ground beef (I usually use 90/10)

1 small green pepper, diced

1/4 cup onion, diced

1 tsp. garlic, chopped

15 oz. can petite diced tomatoes

15 oz. can tomato sauce

32 oz. carton beef stock or broth

1 beef bouillon cube

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1 Tbs. soy sauce

1/3 cup ketchup

2 cups cooked white rice

In a large Dutch oven, cook and brown the beef on medium heat.  Remove excess fat.  Add the green pepper and onion. Cook for 3-4 minutes until vegetables are soft.  Add the garlic, cook for a minute or so.  Add the remaining ingredients except the rice.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium low and simmer for 30-40 minutes.  Taste to see if more salt and pepper are needed and adjust if necessary.  Add the rice and heat for 5-10 minutes until hot.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

