Sweet Potato Biscuits

Standard

   I hope everyone had a happy Mother’s Day.  Mine was very good even though my green-eyed Irish guy had to work.  I got a dozen yellow roses and a half-dozen DeBrand truffles.  If you’ve never had a DeBrand chocolate you definitely should.  There’s 3 locations here in Fort Wayne.  I recommend the key lime pie.  They’re out of this world good.  After you take that first bite, you have to stop just a moment to gather your senses.  That’s how good they are. The peanut butter and caramel are also excellent, but they’re all good.  I got to spend time with two of my daughters and two of my grandchildren and have my favorite Chinese food for dinner so that’s a very good day.  There’s a little Chinese restaurant in Kendallville called Super Chopsticks which is my favorite place.  We usually get an order of crab rangoon and pot stickers to share.  I get sesame chicken with pork fried rice and an egg roll.  The choir sings YUM! in my head.  Another thing that made me say yum today was these sweet potato biscuits I made for breakfast.  They were crispy on the outside and oh so fluffy on the inside.  They reminded me more of scones than biscuits and they were as satisfying as a donut.  No, seriously, they were.  Next time I think I’ll sprinkle some cinnamon sugar on top before I bake them.  I got the recipe from Jeff Mauro aka the sandwich king on Food Network.  I changed the recipe very slightly.  You can find his recipe here.  Grab your dough cutter and biscuit cutter and meet me in the kitchen.      Sweet Potato Biscuits

1 lb. sweet potatoes (2 or 3 medium sized)

1 Tbs. dry buttermilk powder

1 Tbs. water

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

2 1/2 cups flour

3 Tbs. brown sugar

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

3/4 tsp. salt

1 1/2 sticks (12 Tbs.) unsalted cold butter, cut into small cubes

1 Tbs. heavy cream

1 Tbs. unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Wash sweet potatoes, pat dry and prick the potato skins with the tines of a fork.  Place on a baking sheet and bake for an hour.  Allow to cool.  Remove the skins.  Place the potatoes in a small mixing bowl and mash until smooth.  Add the buttermilk powder, water and nutmeg.  Mix well.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients-flour, brown sugar, baking soda and salt.  Whisk around with your dough cutter or a fork to combine everything.  Add the cold butter cubes to the flour mixture.  Using your dough cutter or your fingers mix the butter and flour together until the butter is the size of peas.  You need the little hunks of butter for a fluffy biscuit.  Now add the sweet potato mixture and the heavy cream and mix until just combined. Do not over mix or you’ll have a tough biscuit.  No one wants a tough biscuit. Sprinkle a little flour on your counter.  Turn the dough out and form it into a ball.  Flatten the dough out with your hands until it’s about 3/4 inch thick.  Dip the biscuit cutter in flour and cut out biscuits.  Don’t waste any of this dough.  Gather it up again and cut it until you’ve used it all.  You may have to pat the last one together.  Mine made 9 biscuits.  Place biscuits on a baking sheet and brush the melted, cooled butter on the tops.  Bake for 15-18 minutes at 425 degrees.

Enjoy these luscious biscuits with butter, jam or apple butter.  I thought seedless black raspberry jam was an excellent choice.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

