Blueberry Banana Bread

Standard

Are you one of those people who sleep like a log every night?  Or do you have insomnia from time to time?  I usually can’t sleep about 3 or 4 times a week. It’s not that I can’t fall asleep.  I just can’t stay asleep. Sometimes it’s as early as midnight that I wake up.   What do you do when you can’t sleep?  I usually bake or think about what I’m going to bake.  The other day when I was watching Food Network, Giada made this bread on her show.  I knew I was going to make it because I had two ripe bananas on the microwave and a bag of blueberries in the freezer.  Perfect!  When insomnia struck at 2 am, after a couple cups of coffee, it was the time to make it.  This recipe is very easy and the bread turns out moist and delicious.  I didn’t change Giada’s recipe which you can find here.  I did change the method to the blueberry banana madness though.  I hate dirtying dishes unnecessarily even though I have a dishwasher, so I skipped some of her steps.  Using only two bowls, a spoon and a fork, I delivered a killer banana bread. Let’s mash some bananas!

 Blueberry Banana Bread

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

2 very ripe bananas (about 3/4 cup mashed)

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 large eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

1 cup fresh or frozen (thawed, drained and patted dry) blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 9 inch bread pan with non-stick cooking spray with flour and set aside.

In a small mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients-flour, baking soda, salt, baking powder, cinnamon and nutmeg and whisk with a fork.  Set aside.  In a medium sized mixing bowl, mash bananas until just a few small chunks remain.  Add the eggs and whisk with a fork until frothy.  Add the sugar, oil and vanilla and mix well with a spoon.  Next add the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.  Place the blueberries (I used frozen ones.) in the bowl that the dry ingredients were in and add a tablespoon of flour.  Toss them around until all the blueberries are evenly covered with the flour.  This is so that they won’t sink to the bottom of the bread.  Fold the blueberries into the banana bread being careful to not crush them.  Scrape the banana bread into the prepared pan. Bake for about an hour or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool in the pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes.  Remove from pan and allow cool completely on the wire rack before cutting.  Enjoy this lovely bread with a cup of coffee or tea!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

