Cheddar Topped BBQ Beef Bread Bowls

Standard

 This is the third meal from the roast I made the other day.  We had roast, potatoes and carrots on the first day, beef and noodles the next time and finally this shredded bbq beef.  You don’t have to use a bread bowl like I did.  I just had a couple of them that I needed to use before they got moldy.  Don’t you hate it when that happens?  I sure do.  You can use sandwich bread and have it open-faced, piled high with tangy meat and lots of cheddar cheese.  Sorry I had to wipe the drool from my mouth.

I had about 3/4 to 1 pound of meat left.  I used a fork to pull it into shreds.  The barbecue sauce was left over honey apple butter barbecue sauce that I’ll put a link to get to or you can just use your favorite bottled sauce.

Cheddar Topped BBQ Beef Bread Bowls

3/4 to 1 lb. left over roast beef

1 Tbs. water

1/2 to 1 cup honey apple butter bbq sauce (recipe here) or your favorite bottled bbq sauce

4 bakery bread bowls or 4 slices of your favorite bread

1/2 cup to 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

garlic powder

dried parsley

Pull the beef with a fork to make shreds.  Place in a small pan with about a tablespoon of water.  Cook on medium heat until warm.  Add as much of the bbq sauce to make it as saucy as you like.  Hollow out the bread bowl making sure to leave a shell for your meat. Don’t throw away the core of the bread bowl.  Butter it and sprinkle it with garlic powder and parsley.  Place the bread bowls and the cores on a foil lined baking sheet.  Fill the bread bowls with hot meat and top with as much shredded cheddar as you can pile on. Sprinkle with a little garlic powder and parsley.  Turn the oven on to broil and place the baking sheet in it.  Broil until cheese is melted and brown 3-4 minutes or so watching carefully so it doesn’t burn.  If using bread, sprinkle with a little olive oil, garlic powder and parsley.  Place that side down on a foil lined baking sheet.  Top with meat and cover with cheese.  Broil for 3-4 minutes until cheese is melted and brown.  Always watch carefully so it doesn’t burn.  Enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

