Butterscotch Cheesecake Pie with Oatmeal Scotchie Crust

Standard

     Have you ever committed to making something before checking to see if you have everything you need?    I don’t usually do that but such was the case with this pie.  I had this idea to make a layered cheesecake pie using oatmeal scotchie cookies that I had made as the crust.  But did I check to see if I had any heavy whipping cream?  Nope. BIG mistake!  I had already made and baked the crust when I started to assemble my ingredients for the filling and found out I was lacking.  What’s a girl to do?  Give up on the pie?  Never!  What I did have was Redi Whip.  I thought I’d take my chances and see what happened.  Necessity is the mother of invention, right?  It didn’t set up as firmly as I would like but it’s delicious.  Oatmeal scotchies make a great crust.  I think you can take just about any cookie and make it into a crust though.  I’ve used cereal too.  I’m going to give you the recipe as I envisioned it and how it actually came to pass. I didn’t make my own butterscotch pudding.  I used the good ole 4 serving size box.  The butterscotch chips and cinnamon in the cookie crust really pulled this together to be a great tasting pie.

  Butterscotch Cheesecake Pie with Oatmeal Scotchie Crust

1/2 batch of baked oatmeal scotchies (recipe here)

4 Tbs. unsalted butter, melted

8 oz. brick cream cheese at room temperature

1 cup heavy whipping cream*

1/2 cup powdered sugar*

1/2 tsp. vanilla

3 oz. box instant butterscotch pudding mix (4 serving size)

2 cups milk

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray a 10 inch glass pie pan with non-stick cooking spray.  Place the oatmeal scotchies in the bowl of a food processor and pulse until it’s crumbs.  Take the tube out of the top and slowly add the melted butter while pulsing.  Pat the crumb mixture firmly into the bottom and up the sides of the pie pan.  Bake for 8-10 minutes.  Remove from oven and allow to cool before filling.  Add the cream cheese to a medium sized bowl.  Using a hand mixer, mix until smooth.  Add the whipping cream, powdered sugar and vanilla and whip beginning on low speed and increasing speed to high as it thickens until it forms stiff peaks.  Place in the refrigerator to set up while the crust cools.  In a small bowl whip the pudding mix and milk until it starts to thicken, about 5 minutes or so.  Place the pudding in the refrigerator while waiting for the crust to cool.  Spoon the cream cheese into the completely cooled crust and smooth the top to even it out.  Now spoon the pudding onto the cream cheese layer with dollops all over the surface.  Smooth and even out the pudding.  Place in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours to set up.  Enjoy!

*Instead of the whipping cream, you may substitute an 8 oz. container of cool whip and reduce the powdered sugar to 1/4 cup.

*I used 8 oz. of redi whip and 1/4 cup powdered sugar instead of the whipping cream.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

