Banana Cake with Coconut Pecan Frosting

Standard

Three very ripe bananas stared at me from the top of the microwave this morning.  They implored me to make something with them before they got thrown away like, well,  rotten bananas.  Do I make banana bread?  Banana muffins?  Banana brownies?  Nope.  Banana cake.  I have a whole lotta banana cake recipes.  Which one should I use?  Apparently none of them.  I looked to my good friend Ina Garten (I wish!) for help.  She has a one layer cake that just so happens to use 3 bananas.  Cha-ching!  Let’s do this!

The result is this beautiful, HUGE one layer of banana excellence.  It’s moist and packs a wallop of banana flavor.  Question- I wonder how many times I’m going to say banana?*  Did I mention this cake is HUGE?  It was probably big enough to make a double layer.  I didn’t do much at all to change this recipe.  I omitted the orange zest and walnuts she put in her cake and used some coconut pecan frosting I had left over from some German chocolate cupcakes instead of a cream cheese frosting.  If you’d like to see her complete recipe, click here.  If you’d like to hear a funny banana song, click here.  Don’t you love those little fellas?  Let’s cake!

  Banana Cake with Coconut Pecan Frosting

3 very ripe bananas, mashed
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1/2 cup sour cream, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp.kosher salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 9″ cake pan with cooking spray with flour.  Place a circle of parchment paper inside the cake pan and spray with the cooking spray with flour.  Put the mashed bananas and sugars in the bowl of a stand mixer.  Mix on low speed until combined.  Now add the oil, eggs, sour cream and vanilla.  Mix on low until well combined and smooth.  In a small bowl, sift together the flour, soda and salt. With mixer on low speed, slowly pour the flour mixture in the banana mixture mixing until just combined.  Use a rubber spatula to scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl, making sure there are no unmixed clumps.  Pour into prepared pan.  The pan will be very full.  Don’t worry, it won’t overflow.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of the cake comes out clean.  Cool for 15 minutes in the pan on a wire rack.  Remove from pan and allow to cool completely on the rack.

To make the coconut pecan frosting, click here.

Frost top and sides of cake.  Remember I used leftover frosting so I didn’t have enough to completely frost the cake.  I think it still looks pretty.  Plus you can really see how HUGE it is.  Enjoy!

*Answer-I counted 17 times including the title.  Ha!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

