Quick and Easy Chili

Standard

 What a lazy Sunday we’ve had at our house today!  We stayed in our jammies until late afternoon, watched tv and talked.  I did make us a breakfast sandwich this morning and did two loads of laundry.  Suddenly it’s almost 4:00 and I’m wondering what the heck I’m going to make for dinner.  My green-eyed Irish guy suggested sandwiches.  Not in the mood for a sandwich, I walked back and forth between the pantry and the fridge, opening the doors stalking their contents and asking myself what can I make for dinner. After pondering this riddle for 10 or 15 minutes, I decided it was going to be this quick and easy chili. I don’t always use packages of chili seasoning, but tonight it was all about quick and easy.  I always keep a couple packages of chili and taco seasoning in the pantry just in case.  My recipe for chili seasoning mix follows the chili recipe.  I usually like to put a piece of buttered corn bread in the bottom of my bowl or sprinkle the top with corn chips and of course there has to be cheese and sour cream.  YUM!

 Quick and Easy Chili

1 1/4 lbs ground beef (I used 90/10)

1/2 medium onion, diced small

1 tsp. chopped garlic

3 large pepperoncini peppers from a jar, chopped

2    1.25 oz. pkgs. mild chili seasoning*

1 – 2 Tbs. worcestershire sauce

2    11.5 oz. cans (or about 3 cups)  V8 juice

1    15 oz. can petite diced tomatoes

1    15 oz. can dark red chili beans, drained

1/4 cup ketchup

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

few dashes of hot pepper sauce

Toppings of your choice such as shredded cheese, sour cream, green onion

Corn bread, crackers or corn chips if desired

In a large Dutch oven over medium high heat, brown ground beef.  Drain off grease.  Turn heat down to medium and add onion to the pot.  Cook and stir about 5 minutes or until onion softens and becomes translucent. Add garlic, pepperoncini and chili seasoning and cook for another minute or so.  Add remaining ingredients, bring to a boil and reduce heat to medium low.  Simmer for at least 30 minutes.  Taste to see if seasoning is correct.  Add more salt, pepper and hot sauce if needed.  Enjoy!

*If you’d rather make your own use:

1 Tbs. chili powder

1 Tbs. flour

1 tsp. sugar

1/2 tsp. smoked paprika

1 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp. onion powder

1/4 tsp. oregano

1/4 tsp. parsley

1/4-1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper, depending upon how hot you like your chili

1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes

Mix everything together and store in a small container with a tight fitting lid.  Add one tablespoon at a time until it’s spicy enough for you.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Ccc-cornbread | goodwitchofcake

Leave a Reply

