Bacon!  Bacon!  Bacon!

Standard

  

I’m laying here on the couch, where I’ve been the last few days, sick as a dog.  Where on Earth did that expression come from and why do we say it anyway?  Thank you Google for allowing me to answer that question for myself.  Apparently the expression dates back to at least the 17th century and is more of a descriptive phrase than a knock against dogs.  It refers to a dog’s rather indiscriminate tastes in food choices and the effects thereafter.    So I guess we should only use it when we have the unfortunate displeasure of the stomach flu.  You learn something new every day, don’t you?

I feel like a nyquilholic, watching the clock for the chance to take the next dose.  Has it been six hours yet?  Would it hurt if I took it an hour or two or three early?  Like Tootles in Peter Pan who lost his marbles, I’ve also lost something.  No not my marbles.  Ok some might argue that, but I’m speaking of my voice.  You’d think my green-eyed Irish guy would rejoice and enjoy this quiet time, but no.  He actually enjoys hearing my voice.  Thank goodness.  In fact, we have talked to each other every day except for one since we met over 10 years ago.

Can we talk about something dear to my heart?  I’m speaking about bacon of course.  Do you love bacon as much as I do? These are two easy appetizers or, if you’d rather, bacontizers.  One is wrapped with bacon and the other draped with it.  Without further ado-doo….Sorry it’s the cold meds speaking, not me.  Come to think of it, it’s been more than six hours since my last dose of dayquil.  I need a shot!

Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Sausage

24 large Deglet Noor  pitted dates from an 8 oz. bag or Medjool dates, pitted

6-8 slices bacon, depending upon the size of the dates you use

4 oz. hot sausage, bulk style or links with the casing removed

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.   Cut each slice of bacon into thirds or quarters depending upon how large your dates are.  I cut mine into quarters.   I used the smaller but more economical Deglet Noor dates already pitted from a bag.  Pick out the largest 24 to use.  Make a slit lengthwise on one side of each date making sure to not cut all the way through.  Using your fingers, fill each date with as much sausage as it will hold.  Wrap bacon around the stuffed dates and place on a baking sheet with the ends of the bacon on the bottom.  Bake for 10 minutes, then flip them over and bake for an additional 8-10 minutes or until the bacon is brown and crispy.

Bacon Crackers

1 sleeve rectangle shaped butter crackers (I used Townhouse)

1 pkg. bacon

Brown sugar

Cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place a wire cooling rack on a baking sheet.  Line the rack with crackers.  Cut the bacon into thirds or quarters depending upon the length of your bacon.  You want it to fit on the crackers without extending off the edges.  Place one piece of the cut bacon on each cracker.  Sprinkle liberally with brown sugar.  Sprinkle lightly with cayenne pepper.  Remember a little goes a long way so if you don’t want to burn the taste buds off your tongue use discretion.  Bake until brown sugar melts and starts to carmelize and the bacon is crispy, about 20 minutes or so.  The crackers will brown a little.  Just keep on eye on them so they don’t burn.

Now you have two easy, peasy bacontizers to serve to your family and guests.  Watch how fast they disappear!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

