Spicy Black Bean Soup

Standard

 

This soup has been on my mind for a few days.  When my green-eyed Irish guy called and told me he had eaten a late lunch and would only want a sandwich when he got home late, I knew I would be having my soup tonight.  Yay soup!  When G got home from school we both dug into a bowl.  It was delicious!  It was spicy enough to warm the tummy but not burn the mouth.  I added about 3/4 cup of small diced ham to it (leftover from my 9 lb. Easter ham) after I pureed half and added the other half back in the pan to warm again.  It added a little somethin’ somethin’ to it.  This would be great over some lime cilantro rice too.

 Spicy Black Bean Soup

1/2 medium onion, finely chopped

1/2 cup carrots, small dice

1 stalk celery, small dice

1 tsp. garlic, chopped

1 small tomato, peeled and chopped

1 Tbs. olive oil

1 Tbs. unsalted butter

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. chili powder

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

1 bay leaf

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. liquid smoke

3 cups beef broth

1/2 tsp. instant coffee crystals

2 15 oz.cans black beans, rinsed and drained

4 oz. can chopped green chiles, drained

cheddar cheese, sour cream and other toppings of choice

Place the olive oil and butter in a large sauce pan on medium heat.  When butter and oil are hot, add the chopped onion, carrots, celery and tomato.  Cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add the garlic and cook for another minute.  Stir in the spices, cooking for a minute until fragrant.  Stir in the beef broth, instant coffee crystals, liquid smoke, beans and green chiles to the pan.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low and simmer for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove 2 cups of soup and reserve.  Using an immersion blender (or blender or food processor), puree remaining soup until smooth.  Add reserved soup and cook for 5 minutes until soup is warm.  Serve with your favorite toppings.  Sopa es buena comida!  Enjoy!!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

