Pimiento Cheese

Standard

This pimiento cheese came about because I decided to try to save a buck or two.  My green-eyed Irish guy loves Easy Cheese (italics=shuddering).  I don’t know why.  If I never see another can of it I’ll be perfectly ok with that.  It costs around $4 per can and we usually buy 3, yes 3, per week.  I thought I’d be smart and buy the store brand to try to save a dollar a can.  Wellllll, turns out he hates the store brand.  Insert moral dilemma.  Do I throw it away and waste the $3 we paid for it? Or do I try to do something with it?  I’m a thrifty kind of person.  Sometimes it’s a virtue, sometimes a fault.  I hate wasting things especially food.  First I hesitantly squirt some on my fingertip and roll it around in my mouth.  Hmmm…tastes like…Easy Cheese.  That’s good/bad.  What the heck can I do with it?  Pimiento cheese immediately came to mind.  I know everyone isn’t a fan, but I’ve always enjoyed it.  It ended up being a tasty version, even if it does contain Easy Cheese.  So if you find yourself with a moral dilemma like this, you can do what I did and eat it.

Pimiento Cheese:

1 can Easy Cheese or store equivalent

4 ounces or 1/2 block cream cheese, room temperature

1 cup Dubliner cheese (an Irish cheese which I thought was like cheddar, but is like a mixture of sharp cheddar and parmesan), shredded

3/4 cup mild cheddar cheese, shredded

1/3 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup finely diced onion

4 oz. jar chopped pimientos, drained

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

6 dashes hot pepper sauce (I used Franks’s), or more to taste

Squirt the easy cheese into a medium-sized bowl.  Add the cream cheese and mix well with a hand mixer on medium high. Add the remaining ingredients and mix on medium high until well combined.  If you’d like it a little spicier, add a small. chopped jalapeno.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

