Pulled Pork with Honey Apple Butter Barbecue Sauce

Standard

 What a beautiful day today has been!  The sun has been and still is shining and it’s 67 degrees out right now.  Woo-hoo!  Is spring finally here???  Don’t think I can quite break out the flip-flops yet.  Darn it! 😦  If I were rich I’d spend my days where it’s warm all the time with the sun in my eyes and sand between my toes.  Hawaii?  Heck yeah!  Alas I am not rich, so much of the time I have to make my own sunshine.

Our apartment smelled absolutely AHHH-MAZING!  The pork was cooking in the crockpot for 5 1/2 hours, teasing my senses and making my mouth water.  Added to that was the smell of the tangy barbecue sauce I made.  I saw a recipe for it on Food Gawker one night and I knew I’d be making it.  Apple butter in barbecue sauce?   Count me in!  You can find the original recipe here.  I changed it just a bit and I think it’s wonderful.  I even got my green-eyed Irish guy to taste it.  His favorite barbecue sauce is Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey BBQ but I persuaded him to try my homemade.  He liked it enough to say if he couldn’t have his SBR’s, he’d choose mine over any other.  She shoots.  She scores.  RAHHHH!  I hear the cheering crowd in my head.

Pulled Pork with Honey Apple Butter Barbecue Sauce

  

Pork:

3 one inch thick boneless loin pork chops

3/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

2-3 Tbs. Smokehouse Maple seasoning (I used McCormick Grill Mates)

2 Tbs. Olive oil

12 oz. can or bottle root beer (I used IBC) or Dr. Pepper

Place the olive oil in a skillet and heat to medium-high heat.  Salt and pepper both sides of the chops.  Sprinkle both sides of the chops generously with the smokehouse maple seasoning, pressing it into the meat. Place the chops in the hot pan and brown on all sides.  Transfer the chops to a small crockpot.  Pour the root beer over the meat.  Cook on high for 5-6 hours.  While the chops are cooking, prepare the barbecue sauce.

Sauce:

1 Tbs. olive oil

1/2 small yellow onion, finely diced

1 cup apple butter

1 cup ketchup

1 Tbs. spicy brown mustard

2 Tbs. honey

1 Tbs. apple cider vinegar

1 1/4 tsp. chili powder

1/2 tsp. smoked paprika 

1/4 tsp. cumin 

1/4 tsp. ground coriander 

4 drops hot sauce, or more to taste (I used Franks)

Heat oil in a skillet on medium-high heat.  Add the chopped onion.  Saute for 2-3 minutes until onion is translucent.  Add the remaining ingredients,  stirring to fully combine.  When it starts to boil, turn heat down to medium-low.  Continue cooking for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Remove the chops from the crockpot and put into a bowl.  Use two forks to pull the pork apart into shreds. Add a couple tablespoon cooking liquid to the meat.  Add as much barbecue sauce as you’d like to the meat.  Now grab a couple napkins and eat some of this saucy pork!  If you’re not wearing some barbecue sauce, you’re doing it wrong.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

 

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

3 responses »

  1. I love your blog. You should have done this years ago. There’s no stopping you now. Make a lemon creme brûlée with blueberry sauce.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Cheddar Topped BBQ Beef Bread Bowls | goodwitchofcake

Leave a Reply

