Angel White Cake

Standard

 What can I say about this cake?  It tastes like a cross between angel food cake and wedding cake.  This is my go to white cake.  May I tell you a secret about it?  It starts with a cake mix.  GASP!  Most of the cakes I make are homemade, but I didn’t think I could make this one better from scratch.  The cake mix gets all kinds of goodies added to it, you can’t tell it starts from a box.  All this needs is a good frosting to be perfect.  This deserves better than canned frosting.  YUCK!!!  That’s one thing I despise.  It tastes so artificial.  It’s not hard to make a delicious butter cream frosting from scratch.  It takes about 5 minutes.  And you get to lick the beaters.  Woo hoo!  This would make an excellent close to your Easter dinner.

Speaking of Easter, I just decided what I’m going to make for dessert.  I have such a hard time choosing what I want to make for holidays.  Mainly that’s because I want to make EVERYTHING.  My green-eyed Irish guy always reminds me that I’m not feeding an army any more.  I’m very excited about sharing with you later in the week what my show stopping dessert will be.  I’ll just say it’s something a little different.

Angel White Cake

Cake very slightly adapted from Recipe Girl

18.25 oz. box white cake mix (I only use Duncan Hines)

1 cup flour

1 cup sugar

3/4 tsp. salt

1 1/3 cups water

2 Tbs. vegetable oil

1-2 tsp. vanilla (depending upon how much you like vanilla)

1 cup sour cream

4 large egg whites at room temperature

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour (or spray with cooking spray with flour) two nine-inch cake pans.

In a large bowl whisk together cake mix and the rest of the dry ingredients.  Add the remaining ingredients and mix with stand or hand mixer on low-speed until just combined.  Turn the mixer up to medium and beat for an additional 2 minutes.  Using a spatula, scrape the bottom and sides to make sure all ingredients are well combined.

Divide batter evenly between the two prepared pans.  Bang each pan on the counter 2-3 times to remove air bubbles from batter.  Place pans in the oven.  Immediately reduce the heat to 325 degrees.  Bake for 35-45 minutes or until a tooth pick inserted in the center comes out clean.  (Don’t worry if it takes longer than 45 minutes.  Each oven has different temperatures.)

Cool in the pans on a wire rack for 10 minutes.  Remove from pans and place on a wire rack until completely cool.

Butter cream frosting:

2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter at room temperature

4 cups confectioner’s sugar, sifted

pinch of salt

1-2 tsp. vanilla or 1 Tbs. vanilla bean paste

2-4 Tbs. heavy whipping cream

Place butter in a large bowl.  Beat on medium high until light, fluffy and pale yellow in color.  Add the confectioner’s sugar and salt.  Beat on low until incorporated.  Add the vanilla and 2 Tbs. whipping cream.  Beat on medium high-speed, adding additional whipping cream one tablespoon at a time, until it’s light and fluffy.

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

