Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Bars

Standard

S-A-T-U-R-D-A-Y NIGHT!  Saturday night.  Who remembers that song?  I’m dating myself here, but it was 1974.  I know-I’m old.  Lol.  It was the Bay City Rollers, Scottish heart-throb who wore capri pants and lots of plaid.  I was just starting the magical teenage years that year and boy oh boy did I have a crush on them.  Enough of the flashback, let’s get on to what’s important-basketball!  Hey I’m a Hoosier and we love our basketball.

After an afternoon of shopping, we headed home for a cheeseburger and coleslaw dinner before settling down on the couch for some basketball.  The first game, Arizona vs. Wisconsin was good, but we were waiting for the second game, Notre Dame vs. Kentucky.  This is going to be quite a game.  Go IRISH!!!  I’m watching the game as I’m typing.  It’s tied 31/31 at half-time.

Looking forward to tomorrow.  I declare it a cookie day.   But for now let me show you these tasty, healthy bars.  I have to admit I was anticipating these to be more like a crunchy granola bar, but they are cake-like instead.  They’re soft and moist, filled with healthy oats, almond milk, banana, peanut butter and Greek yogurt.  Go ahead and eat this “cake” for breakfast. or any time of day, without feeling guilty.

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal Bars

Ingredients:

3 cups old-fashioned oats

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tsp. cinnamon (add more if desired to your taste)

1 medium ripe banana, mashed

2 cups plain almond milk (can use other types of milk)

1 large egg

1 6-ounce container vanilla Greek yogurt

1/2 cup peanut butter

2 tablespoons honey

1/3 cup mini chocolate chips

1/3 cup coconut flakes

1/3 cup roasted walnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  In a bowl mix dry ingredients; oats, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Set aside.  In a large bowl mash banana.  Add eggs and beat together.  Add almond milk, honey, peanut butter and yogurt. Combine the dry ingredients with the wet.  Add walnuts, chocolate chips and coconut.  Pour into a greased 9×13 baking dish and bake uncovered for 35-40 minutes or until slightly browned around the edges.  Cool completely in the pan on a wire rack.  If desired drizzle with chocolate.  Melt 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate) in a freezer bag in the microwave in 30 second intervals, removing from the microwave and kneading each time until completely melted.  Cut a small piece off of one corner of the bag and drizzle the chocolate over the bars.

*I think you could bake these in muffin pans with cupcake liners so they would be individual servings.  I would bake for 15-20 minutes.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

