Leftover Delights

Standard

    

Do you have leftover roasted chicken or lasagna like I do this week?  What do you do with them?  That paper bag roasted chicken from earlier made some delicious and therapeutic chicken noodle soup.  I had a brain fart and didn’t take a picture of it. 😦  Once again I gotta tell you, I 💜 soup!  I took the chicken off the bone and boiled those bones with some water, salt and pepper and sautéed onion, celery and celery leaves and diced carrots for 45-60 minutes. I removed the bones and added 6 cups of chicken stock, brought it to a boil and added 12 ounces of uncooked egg noodles. I boiled that for 15 minutes, added some of the chopped leftover chicken to the pot and cooked for 5-10 minutes until the chicken was hot.  Voila!  Soup.  There was more chicken left over so we had a tasty salad with greens, tomato, avocado, strawberries, shredded cheddar, chicken and champagne vinaigrette.  That dressing is so good I could almost drink it straight. Ok maybe not straight but on the rocks, shaken not stirred.  Best salad dressing ever but really hard to find. 

 

Then there’s the lasagna.  How about a lasagna “grilled cheese” sandwich?  Don’t scoff. Give it a try. It’s super de dooper yummy!  

What creative things do you make with leftovers?  Please share your your ideas with me.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda 

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

