Swiss Cake Roll Oreo Pudding Pie

Standard

Today was my grandson’s 7th birthday.  He wanted McDonald’s for lunch.  Boy oh boy, can that boy throw down some chicken nuggets and fries.  Grandpa and I got him a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles digital camera.  He didn’t want anything to do with his Minion chocolate cake.  All he wanted was his camera.  He loves anything associated with technology.  Happy birthday Bubbie boy!

This Swiss Cake Roll Pie has been taunting me all week.   So I made this in homage of Pi day.  Any way you slice it this is a win/win proposition.  I mean Swiss cake rolls? And Oreo cookie pudding?  Yes please!  I admit I was a little too anxious to cut this beautiful piece of junk food goodness for the pieces to look “pretty” but they sure TASTED “pretty”.  I would put this babe in the freezer for at least half an hour; an hour would be better.  I used a recipe that my ex-MIL gave me about 30 years ago for the Oreo pudding.    Swiss Cake Roll Oreo Pudding Cake

9 twin pack packages Swiss Cake Rolls (there are 6 twin packs per box so you’ll need two boxes)

1 8 oz. package cream cheese, room temperature

1 cup powdered sugar

3 1/2 cups milk

2 3 oz. (4 serving size) packages French vanilla pudding

2/3 of a 1 lb. package Oreos. crushed

1 8 oz. tub whipped topping such as Cool Whip, thawed

Wrap a 9 inch spingform pan with plastic wrap large enough to hang over the sides.  Cut the Swiss cake rolls into slices.  Line the bottom and sides of the springform pan with cake roll slices.  Put the cream cheese and powdered sugar in a large bowl.  Beat on low with a hand mixer or your stand mixer until combined and then increase speed to high until smooth and creamy.  Add milk and pudding. Mix on low so you don’t get drenched with pudding until it starts to thicken.  Fold the thawed whipped topping and crushed Oreos into the pudding mixture with a rubber spatula until well combined.  Spoon pudding into the prepared pan, smoothing the top.  Place the remaining cake roll slices on top of the pudding.  Cover springform pan with plastic wrap and place in the freezer until firm, but not frozen 30 minutes to 1 hr.  Turn out onto serving plate and remove the springform pan and the plastic wrap covering.  Slice this gorgeous thing into as big of slices as you’d like and enjoy.  Store leftovers in a covered container in the fridge.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

