Creamy Carrot Soup

Standard

Have I mentioned I love soup? No?  Well I LOVE soup!  “Soup is good food.  It makes a great meal.”  (It’s from a Dead Kennedys song.  Listen here.)  It’s like a hug for your tummy.  It was feeling cold and damp in our apartment this evening.  It was just going to be me and G for dinner and I had a hankerin’ for some good, hot, delicious, creamy, slightly spicy carrot soup.  It was AWESOME!  You need to try this a. s. a. p. We seriously savored every bite.

Creamy Carrot Soup

4 Tbs. unsalted butter

2 1/2 cups carrots, diced small

1 small onion, diced fine

1 rib of celery, diced small

2-3 cloves garlic, minced fine

3 cups chicken broth

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. ginger

1/4 tsp. curry powder

1 Tbs. unsalted butter

Dice all the vegetables.  Melt the 4 Tbs. butter in a large Dutch oven on medium heat.  Add all vegetables to the hot pan except the garlic. Saute vegetables for 4-5 minutes.  Add garlic and cook for 1 minute.  Add chicken broth.  Bring to a boil.  Cover and simmer for 30 minutes or until carrots are very soft.  Let mixture cool for 10 minutes before placing in a blender.  Blend until smooth and creamy.  Return to the Dutch oven.  Add the cream, salt, pepper, ginger and curry powder.  Heat on medium until soup is hot.  Taste to make sure seasoning is correct.  Add more salt and pepper if needed.  Stir in the remaining tablespoon of butter.  Now get this in your belly!

Like I said it pairs well with a Turbo.  I saw this recipe on a Food Network show.  It’s pretty darn good.  I don’t like beer.  I can’t get the smell past my nose, but I like this drink.

1 bottle cold beer of choice (I used Guinness Blonde)

1 bottle cold hard apple cider (Angry Orchard Crisp Apple)

2 ounces cold creme de Cassis (black currant liqueur)

Divide the above between 2 tall glasses.  Cheers!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

