Good Ole Grilled Cheese

Standard

Can we talk about grilled cheese for a moment?  Good ole grilled cheese.  It’s the quintessential comfort food.  Ooey.  Gooey.  Cheesy.  Goodness.  That’s what I’m talking about.  Usually for me it consists of 2 slices of american cheese, buttered bread and toasted to a perfect golden brown.  Don’t judge.  American cheese just melts so lovely.  It usually gets paired with tomato soup which the kids and I call bricks and blood.  My green eyed Irish guy prefers to have lemon rice soup with his.  It’s one of his favorite meals.  The wonderful part is that pretty much any kind of cheese works too.  I have the honor and distinction as being known as “The Cheesiest”.  In my humble opinion you can add cheese or chocolate to just about anything and make it delicious.  I was watching Food Network one day and it opened a new door to grilled cheese toasting for me.  The host of the show was making grilled cheese but instead of buttering her bread, she used mayonnaise.  It seemed totally wrong.  Who on Earth “butters” their grilled cheese with mayonnaise? Intrigued,  I had to try it.  And I liked it.  A lot.  It doesn’t taste like mayonnaise and it seems to brown better than butter (see picture below).  Give it a try.  You might like it.

Projects that I’ll be working on this weekend include a quinoa salad with orange pineapple rum vinaigrette (provocative, isn’t it?), possibly a tomato soup cake (very curious about that) and French macaron.

 Grilled Ham, Honey Smoked Turkey, Swiss and American Cheese with honey mustard dipping sauce on fine china.

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

Leave a Reply

