Nutella and Banana Stuffed French Toast

Standard

nutella and banana stuffed french toast 2

Welcome to my first blog post!  Blogging…I’ve been thinking about it, talking about it and dreaming about it for a long time now, but fear always stopped me.  What if no one reads it? I worried.  Then I realized if I don’t write it no one even has a chance to read it.  DUH!  So, carpe blogiem.  Seize the blog!  I’m not a chef nor have I gone to culinary school.  I just love food, cooking and baking.  I cook and/or bake pretty much every day.  I’m always on the lookout for new recipes and ways of changing recipes to make them better.  When my green eyed Irish guy and I first started dating he asked me why I have to make everything homemade.  I told him because it tastes better and you know exactly what goes into it.  Now after 8 1/2 years of marriage he appreciates the fact that I cook for him.

Now onward to the French toast.  My daughter, G, was making yum sounds and saying oh my gosh which I understood to mean she approved.  The cream cheese was warm and gooey, the bananas warm and soft and the bread was crispy on the outside and moist on the inside.  Definitely a decadent way to start the day.

Nutella and Banana Stuffed French Toast

nutella and banana stuffed french toast 2

2 Slices bread of choice (I had made some honey oatmeal whole wheat bread which I used) cut 1-1/2″ thick or sliced white bread (you’ll have to use the “grilled cheese” technique)

4 ounces cream cheese, softened at room temperature

1-1/2 Tbs. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 heaping Tbs. nutella

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 banana, sliced

1 Tbs. butter

Powdered sugar for sprinkling

Toppings such as maple syrup, butter and more sliced bananas or other fresh fruit of choice

Cut each slice of bread in half from the top crust down but not all the way through, leaving a pocket.  Combine the cream cheese, sugar, tsp. vanilla and nutella in a small bowl.  Mix with a hand mixer until smooth and completely incorporated.  In a bowl or baking dish add egg and beat with a fork until white and yolk are combined.  Add the milk, 1/2 tsp. vanilla and cinnamon and continue to mix with the fork until slightly frothy.  Open the pocket of the bread and stuff with half the banana slices and then half the cream cheese/nutella mixture being careful to not tear the slices apart.  Don’t worry if you do.  It’ll be like making a grilled cheese sandwich instead of a pocket.  Dip the stuffed bread pocket into the egg mixture for about 10 seconds on each side and repeat to make sure the bread is well saturated.  Repeat process with second bread pocket.  Place the butter in a medium sized skillet and melt on medium high heat.  Add your bread pockets.  Cook 4-5 minutes per side or until golden brown.  Move to serving plates and sprinkle lightly with powdered sugar.  Add toppings, if desired, and enjoy!

Wishing you love, laughter and cake,

Glenda

About glendaclark

Hi there! My name is Glenda and I love food. Cooking and baking are my creative outlets. You'll find me in the kitchen laughing, singing, dancing and cooking or baking. I'm wife to my green eyed Irish guy, mother of four and grandmother of four. These are the chronicles of life as Glenda, the good witch of cake. Warning: may contain cartoon moments, butter and sugar.

One response »

Leave a Reply

